Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism in Tennessee (Special Collections): Journalism

This research guide identifies special collections materials related to journalism and journalists in Tennessee.

Manuscript Resources

Carson Brewer Articles, 1959-1992 (MS.2435) 

charlie daniel comic where a crowd of people are looking up. "What are we watching?" "gas prices"
"What are we watching? Gas Prices" from the Charlie Daniel Editorial Cartoon Collection and Digital Collection.

This collection contains 45 items, mainly articles written by Carson Brewer for the Knoxville News-Sentinel from 1959 to 1992. Most of the articles contain local stories about history and people's experiences or activities.

Charlie Daniel Editorial Cartoon Collection, 1951-2012 (MS.3526)
This collection consists of over 12,000 original cartoons drawn by Charlie Daniel during his career as the editorial cartoonist at the Knoxville Journal (from 1958) and the Knoxville News-Sentinel (from 1992). In these cartoons, Daniel has offered comments upon life in general and politics in particular. Digital Collection is linked below. 

Knoxville Journal & Tribune Assignment Book, 1911 (MS.2197)
T
his collection contains a newspaper assignment book for the Knoxville Journal and Tribune from January 1 to December 31, 1911. Each page is dated and completed in ink with the stories a reporter was assigned to and the items that needed to be looked up that day.

Nellie Kenyon Collection, 1878-1970 (MS.0789)
This collection houses scrapbooks, photographs, magazines, newspapers, programs, menus, and invitations documenting the life and work of Tennessee journalist Nellie Kenyon.

School of Journalism Records, 1957-1974 (AR.0557)
This collection contains administrative files from the University of Tennessee's School of Journalism, including a description of the 1959 curriculum, information on scholarships, financial information, and information on such distinguished professors as Turner Catledge.

Don Whitehead Journalistic Collection, 1940-1973 (MS.1020)
The Don Whitehead Collection houses manuscripts, scrapbooks, correspondence, photos, newspaper columns, and personal memorabilia documenting Whitehead's the active 40-year journalistic career.

Rare Books

Crossville Newspapers. 1977 (PN4899 .C76K5)
A Glimpse of News Past: The Courier, Murfreesboro, Tennessee, 1830-1832. 1999. (F444 M97 G55 1999)
History and Bibliography of Middle Tennessee Newspapers, 1799-1876. 1957. (PN4897.T4 S83)
A History of Knoxville Journalism. 1965 (PN4899 .K44M3)
A Rebel Newspaper's War Story: Being a Narrative of the War History of the Memphis Appeal. 1903. (PN4899.M327 H34 1903)
The Sport Hero as Portrayed in Popular Journalism, 1886-1920. 1994 (Thesis94b.K56) 

Digital Resources

Charlie Daniel Editorial Cartoon Collection

This collection consists of over 20,000 original cartoons drawn by Charlie Daniel during his career as the editorial cartoonist at the Knoxville Journal (from 1958) and the Knoxville News-Sentinel (from 1992).

TRACE

School of Journalism and Electronic Media collection within TRACE. 

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website