Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism in Tennessee (Special Collections): Home

This research guide identifies special collections materials related to journalism and journalists in Tennessee.

What's in this Guide?

This research guide identifies Special Collections materials related to journalism and journalists in Tennessee.

black and white photograph of the knoxville news sentinel building taken sometime between 1915-1924

 

View of the Knoxville Sentinel building sometime between 1915-1924 before the Knoxville Sentinel merged with the Knoxville News to form the Knoxville News Sentinel. From the Images of East Tennessee Digital Collection

 

General Information

Use the following terms to locate materials related to Journalism in Tennessee.  Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.

  • journalism
  • journalist
  • newspapers
  • periodicals
  • sports journalism
  • Tennessee

 

 

 

To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

General Resources for Journalism in Tennessee

A History of Knoxville Journalism. 1933 (PN4899.K44 M3)
The Knoxville Journal: A Historical Study Focusing Mainly on the Lotspeich Years, 1936-1957. 1994 (Thesis94.M54)
The Journal and Tribune's Book of Cartoons. 1909 (NC1429.B87 A4)
Selected Women in Tennessee Newspaper Journalism. 1971 (Thesis71.A325)
Tennessee Newspaper Hall of Fame. 1969 (PN4871.T45 T4)
The Tennessee Press. 1990 (PN4844.T43)
William G. Brownlow: Fighting Parson of the Southern Highlands. 1999 (E415.9.B9 C7 1999)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website