Skip to main content

Journalism in Tennessee (Special Collections): Home

This research guide identifies special collections materials related to journalism and journalists in Tennessee.

Special Collections: Getting Started

Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections. This research guide identifies special collections materials related to journalism and journalists in Tennessee.

The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:

General Information

Use the following to locate general information and resources related to journalism in Tennessee.

Search Terms

There are several search terms to use when looking for materials, for example: journalism, journalist, newspapers, periodicals, sports journalism. Combining some terms can help return more relevant results.

The Special Collections online finding aids are indexed using Library of Congress headings.  Some relevant headings include:


Journalism -- Tennessee -- Knoxville

Journalists -- Tennessee

Newspapers -- Tennessee

Newspapers -- Tennessee -- Knoxville

Sports Journalism -- Tennessee

Women Journalists -- Tennessee

General Resources to Get Started

A History of Knoxville Journalism. 1933 (PN4899.K44 M3)
The Knoxville Journal: A Historical Study Focusing Mainly on the Lotspeich Years, 1936-1957.1994 (Thesis94.M54)
The Journal and Tribune's Book of Cartoons. 1909 (NC1429.B87 A4)
Selected Women in Tennessee Newspaper Journalism. 1971 (Thesis71.A325)
Tennessee Newspaper Hall of Fame. 1969 (PN4871.T45 T4)
The Tennessee Press. 1990 (PN4844.T43)
William G. Brownlow: Fighting Parson of the Southern Highlands. 1999 (E415.9.B9 C7 1999)

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5:30PM
865-974-4480
Website