Melanie Dixson & Niki Kirkpatrick
Health Resources for Consumers
For more information see the Health and Nutrition page of the Consumer Information Government subject guide hosted by the UTK Libraries.
U.S. Government Resources
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) "The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions." (AHRQ)
- Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) "The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), based in Atlanta, Georgia, is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances." (ATSDR)
- Center for Disease Control and Prevetion (CDC) The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is the leading national public health institute of the United States. This resource contains National Center for Health Statistics and Traveler's Health information,
- Department for Health & Human Services (HHS) "It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. We fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services." (HHS)
- Federal Trade Commission (FTC) - Consumer Information - Health & Fitness "FTC's goal is to prevent fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair business practices in the marketplace and provides information to help consumers spot, stop, and avoid them. Learn how to decode ads for products that promise to cure everything for services that claim to shape you up, restore your youthful glow." (Yingting Zhang, Rutgers University Libraries)
- Food and Drug Administration (FDA) FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring standards for food quality, drugs and medical devices, cosmetics and dietary supplements; by protecting the public from electronic product radiation; ; by regulating tobacco products; and by advancing innovations in public health products.
- National Institute of Health (NIH) "The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives." (NIH) The NIH offers research and resources in specialized fields that cover the entire scope of national medicine..
- NIH - National Library of Medicine (NLM) "The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology. In addition, the Library coordinates a 6,000-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine that promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States." (NLM)
- NIH - Office of Dietary Supplements ODS works in collaboration with other NIH institutes, centers, and other research institutions to answer questions about the effectiveness and safety of dietary supplements.
- Nutrition.gov "Nutrition.gov serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers." (Nutrition.gov)
- US Census Bureau (USCB) In addition to the decennial census, the Census Bureau continually conducts dozens of other censuses and surveys, including the American Community Survey, the U.S. Economic Census, and the Current Population Survey. Furthermore, economic and foreign trade indicators released by the federal government typically contain data produced by the Census Bureau.
- US Department of Agriculture (USDA) The USDA "provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on public policy, the best available science, and effective management." (USDA). They also provide research data by the Economic Research Service (ERS), Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS), National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS), Rural Development (RD), and World Agricultural Outlook Board (WAOB).
TN Government Resources
- TN Department of Health (DOH)Contains categorized resources for records, reports and health statistics; immunization and disease prevention; health professionals and facilities; and personal & family health.
- TN DOH - Health and Data ReportsCEDEP Annual Reports, Immunization Survey of 24-month-old children, TN Reports on Healthcare Associated Infections, EPI News, and Acute Chemical Releases
- TN DOH - Health StatisticsHealth data, quick facts, and statistics publications
- TN Department of Human Services (DHS)Provides categorized resources for featured initiatives; child & family services; disability services; and community services
- Tennessee State Library & ArchivesContains online resources for maps, Tennessee Electronic Library, TN Supreme Court cases, Tennessee Virtual Archive, and other resources related to Tennessee historical records.