Health Sciences Librarian
Essential Databases for Finding Articles
- PubMed
This link opens in a new window
The single most important database for biomedicine. PubMed Help || Tutorial || Quick Start || Introduction - Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Video Tutorials
Other Useful Databases
- Agricola 1970+Coverage of food and nutrition—from the USDA.
- Biological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Click 'All Databases' tab to search top biological sciences databases simultaneously: Bio Abs, Web of Science, Zoological Record, and CABI. - CABI: CAB Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of human health, food, and nutrition along with other disciplines such as agriculture. - CINAHL Complete
- This link opens in a new window
The most inclusive index for the field of nursing. Includes coverage of other allied health areas such as occupational therapy, physical therapy, and more. Unlimited users.
CINAHL Tutorial - Cochrane LibraryA unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. An important resource for evidence-based medicine.
- ComDisDomeAn indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. Coverage from 1950 to current.
- Education SourceEducation Source combines Education Full Text and Education Index Retrospective. In addition, Education Source has added hundreds of unique resources that were not previously available elsewhere. Coverage dates back to 1929.
- ERIC from EBSCO
- This link opens in a new window
Includes indexed and some full-text education literature and resources. Coverage from 1966 to present. - Health Policy Reference CenterFull-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
- MedlinePlusProvides consumer health information resources about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
- APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
The premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology. - R2 Digital LibraryE-books and downloadable images primarily for nursing, medicine, and allied health.
- Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering peer-reviewed literature in science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences (including some arts & humanities). Coverage is strongest for 1996 to present. Complements Web of Science. - UpToDateAn evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
Access provide by UT Medical Center.