Scholarly Research
These are the primary databases for finding articles on the history of education in the United States.
- America : History and Life with Full TextCovers the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada.
- Education Source
Provides indexing, abstracts, and some Full-Text of articles in all areas of education. Complements the ERIC database with a broad coverage of topics related to education.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
A full-text archival collection of selected academic journals in multiple disciplines, including education, history, law, political science, public policy and administration. - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses in all disciplines from around the world, many with full-text.
Library Catalogs
- OneSearch
One Search finds items from UT Collections as well as journal and newspaper articles, books and book chapters, and much more from multiple library resources.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryProvides millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Public domain materials (published prior to 1926 and many government documents) are available for download. To get full access, log in by selecting University of Tennessee, Knoxville from the drop-down list and entering your NetID.
- Internet ArchiveA non-profit library of digitized books, movies, music, websites, and more.
- WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
Lets you search the collections of libraries across the US and around the world. If UT does not own a copy, then request the title through interlibrary loan.
Magazines & Newspapers
- American PeriodicalsContent from popular and scholarly periodicals, children's magazines, and trade journals.
- Online NewspapersExplore our collection of current and historical news sources.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890-1982.
Online Access - 2 simultaneous users