Data and Digital Scholarship Services

What is GIS?  A spatial system that creates, manages, analyzes, and maps all types of data (ESRI).

The Department of Data and Digital Services (3DS) is one resource to help the geographic information science (GIS) user-community on campus.  3DS can help gis users find geospatial data, find training, and provide some assistance with projects.  The Office of Innovative Technologies (OIT), Research Computing Support, provides 15-hours of support per-semester to UTK students, staff, and faculty for ESRI ArcGIS software and projects. 

There are three gis workstations available near study room 235K in The Commons South in Hodges Library.  The workstations are first-come, first-serve and include common gis software like ArcGIS Pro, QGIS, Global Mapper, and AutoCAD.

GIS Research Guide

The UT Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Services Hub Research Guide helps the GIS-user community on campus discover and use GIS resources in Tennessee, the United States, and around the world.

The GIS Data page is the most popular part of the guide and includes links to local, national, and international spatial data in categories like agriculture, census, elevation, geology, history, hydrography, imagery, recreation, topography, and transportation. 

The GIS Training and Tutorials page includes links to tutorials, videos, and blog posts for topics including ESRI ArcGIS, QGIS, Global Mapper, GPS, and Spatial Analysis.

The GIS Events page is a list of upcoming workshops by OIT and others, ESRI MOOCs, geospatial conferences, and webinars.

The Geospatial & Mapping Databases page presents mapping and map databases, bibliographic search databases, and e-Book and Full-text Journal Collections from the University Libraries extensive database offerings.
The GIS and Mapping e-Books page presents GIS and mapping titles that can be accessed with a UTK netid and password in the library catalog.  Subject areas covered include agriculture, demographics, elevation, geology, gps, history, imagery, recreation, topography, transportation, and water.