Reference Sources for Race and Ethnicity
Encyclopedia of Racism in American Films by Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Publication Date: 2013
Race and Racism in the United States by Publication Date: 2014
Sage KnowledgeISBN: 9781452216836A collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. that covers a variety of topics in the social sciences, including race, ethnicity, and more.
Selected Online Resources for Race and Ethnicity in American Cinema
Sources relating to Race and Ethnicity in American Cinema. Note: not all sources listed here will provide direct online access to films.
Black Film Archive Black Film Archive is a living register of Black films. In its current iteration, it showcases Black films made from 1915 to 1979 currently streaming.
Tribesourcing Southwest Film Project Based on the collection of nearly 500 films in the American Indian Film Gallery housed at the University of Arizona, this project tribe sources mid-20th century educational and sponsored films about Native peoples of the U.S. Southwest by recording Native narrations and contextual information for film content from the Native communities they represent. The films contain valuable historical visual imagery, but the original narrations are often inaccurate and culturally uninformed. Tribesourcing places historical materials with the peoples they represent in order to tell the untold or suppressed story.
Southside Home Movie Project The South Side Home Movie Project is a five-part initiative to collect, preserve, digitize, exhibit, and research home movies made by residents of Chicago’s South Side neighborhoods.
NMAAHC Great Migration Home Movie Project The Great Migration is a unique digitization service program that partners the National Museum of African American History and Culture with individuals and organizations across the United States to preserve their important analog audiovisual media.
Women Film Pioneers Project The Women Film Pioneers Project (WFPP) is a digital publication and resource that advances research on the hundreds of women who worked behind the scenes during the silent film era. Includes essays on African American and Latin American women film pioneers.
African American Film Materials Photographs and Pressbooks from films featuring African American actors, 1943-1985. Collection held at Southern Methodist University, Texas
Race and Ethnicity in American Cinema
A few selected texts from our catalog ...
Hollywood at the Intersection of Race and Identity by Call Number: PN1995.9.I34 H65 2020Publication Date: 2019-11-15Hollywood at the Intersection of Race and Identity explores the ways Hollywood represents race, gender, class, and nationality at the intersection of aesthetics and ideology and its productive tensions. This collection of essays asks to what degree can a close critical analysis of films, that is, reading them against their own ideological grain, reveal contradictions and tensions in Hollywood's task of erecting normative cultural standards?
Contemporary Black Women Filmmakers and the Art of Resistance by Call Number: PN1995.9.N4 B35 2018Publication Date: 2018-10-22The first book-length analysis of representations of Black femaleness in the feature films of Black women filmmakers. These filmmakers resist dominant ideologies about Black womanhood, and deliberately and creatively reconstructing meanings of Blackness that draw from their personal experiences and create new symbolic meaning of Black femaleness within mainstream culture.
Screening Race in American Nontheatrical Film by Call Number: e-book; print PN1995.9.R22 S374 2019Publication Date: 2019-11-15This volume adds to the growing study of nontheatrical films by focusing on the ways filmmakers developed and audiences encountered ideas about race, identity, politics, and community outside the borders of theatrical cinema. The contributors to Screening Race in American Nontheatrical Film examine the place and role of race in educational films, home movies, industry and government films, anthropological films, and church films as well as other forms of nontheatrical filmmaking.
Latinx Ciné in the Twenty-First Century by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2019-09-24The book's seven sections cover production techniques and evolving genres, profile those behind and in front of the camera, and explore the distribution and consumption of contemporary Latinx films.
Hollywood Goes Latin by Call Number: e-book; printPublication Date: 2019-05-01In the 1920s, Los Angeles enjoyed a buoyant homegrown Spanish-language culture comprised of local and itinerant stock companies that produced zarzuelas, stage plays, and variety acts. After the introduction of sound films, Spanish-language cinema thrived in the city's downtown theatres, screening throughout the 1930s, 1940s, and 1950s in venues such as the Teatro Eléctrico, the California, the Roosevelt, the Mason, the Azteca, the Million Dollar, and the Mayan Theater, among others.
Horror Noire by ISBN: 9781136942945Publication Date: 2013-03-01From King Kong to Candyman, the boundary-pushing genre of the horror film has always been a site for provocative explorations of race in American popular culture. In Horror Noire: Blacks in American Horror Films from 1890's to Present, Robin R. Means Coleman traces the history of notable characterizations of blackness in horror cinema, and examines key levels of black participation on screen and behind the camera.
Jordan Peele's Get Out by ISBN: 9780814214275Publication Date: 2020-04-14Jordan Peele's Get Out: Political Horror is a collection of sixteen essays devoted to exploring Get Out's roots in the horror tradition and its complex and timely commentary on twenty-first-century US race relations. Contributors address Peele's film alongside African American figures such as Nat Turner, W. E. B. Du Bois, and James Baldwin. Taken together, the essays illuminate how Get Out stands as both a groundbreaking intervention in the horror tradition as well as a devastating unmasking of racism in the contemporary United States.
Librarian
Finding books and other materials
UT Libraries One Search
To find books on a particular topic in One Search, try using words from the following subject headings. Once you're in a catalog record, you can click on other relevant subject heading links to display other items in that category.
- African American women in motion pictures
- African Americans in motion pictures
- Arabs in motion pictures
- Asian Americans in motion pictures
- Blacks in motion pictures
- Hispanics in motion pictures
- Indians in motion pictures
- Jews in motion pictures
- Minorities in motion pictures
- Motion picture industry - history
- Motion picture industry - United States - history
- Motion pictures - history
- Motion pictures - United States - history
- Motion pictures - social aspects - United States
- Race in motion pictures
- Racism in motion pictures
- Stereotypes (social psychology) in motion pictures
- Oxford BibliographiesThese annotated bibliographies can guide you to scholarly books on your topic. Explore Race and Cinema and more in this resource.
Finding Articles
Databases for finding scholarly articles on the broader topic of cinema studies are listed on the Cinema Studies Research Guide.
- America : History and Life with Full TextThe primary database for searching the scholarly literature focused on U.S. history.
- Race Relations AbstractsCovers topics on the social, political and economic relations between race and ethnicity and is a good place to look for older articles.
- Sociological AbstractsAbstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews covering the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952 to present.
- Historical Newspapers Research GuideIncludes links to databases for historical national and regional US newspapers.
Finding Streaming Media and DVDs
See the Cinema Studies Research Guide homepage for information on how to find streaming video or DVDs in UT Libraries' collection.
Use One Search to search for specific titles, then limit your search to streaming or DVD.