Cinema Studies: Resources for Cinema Studies Professors

Suggest a purchase - print, e-books, media

Use this Purchase Request form to recommend or request print and e-books. Sign in with your NetID. Select "Cinema" as your department, and the request will come straight to me, your subject librarian. 

Steaming media/DVDs - See "Films for Streaming Use in the Classroom" in the adjacent column.

If you would like to suggest a purchase for the library's collections in general, please contact me directly or submit a request through Kanopy or Swank/Digital Campus. 

Databases

Please email me if you are interested in a database that we don't currently have. 

Most publishers offer a free trial for a limited period, usually 2-3 months. During the trial, we ask that you, other faculty, and students provide feedback. This is then shared with the Collections Committee and helps inform their decision-making on whether to purchase or subscribe to the database.

Journals

Please contact me directly if you have a suggestion for a journal - print or online - that we should consider for the collections

Instruction - I am available for class visits - in person or online - to talk with students about library resources for cinema studies, and to give guidance on search strategies and other information needs. I love meeting with students in the classroom as it makes it easier for them to contact me for individual research help if they need it later. 

Consultation - I am happy to meet with you one-on-one to help support your research needs, or to discuss new materials for our collection.

Guest lectures - My areas of expertise are amateur and non-theatrical film, film archives and preservation, early color processes, and film-related technology. I always bring lots of artifacts to make for an engaging hands-on experience!

Film projection - I am an experienced film archivist and small gauge film projectionist. I especially enjoy projecting film for students who have rarely or never experienced it.

Resource Sharing, formerly known as Interlibrary Loans. Requests can be made here.

Room Reservations at UT can be made using 25Live.

Films for Streaming Use in the Classroom:

If the item is to be streamed for class use, the instructor will need to start by completing a request with Digital Media Services for digitization. DMS will pass the request on to Resource Acquisitions if a title needs to be ordered (in the best available format) for the Libraries' collection.

DMS Request Form:

As of June 2024, a group within the Libraries is working with DMS to clarify wording on the request form.  Until that wording is clarified, advise instructors to:

• Choose "Submit a Request" on the right side of the screen
• For "What type of help is needed?," choose "Digitization: Video"
  • We realize this wording doesn't necessarily describe the action that's occurring!
• Under "Media Source," choose "Available from the UT Library" even if the Libraries hasn't purchased a copy yet
• In the "Please describe your request" box, the instructor can specify that this is a request for a new purchase.

Films Streaming Commercially (but not available through an educational platform):

When a film is available commercially, i.e. Amazon Prime, Hulu, Netflix, etc., the instructor is informed that "The following titles are available commercially and not available through educational vendors, therefore students will have to access them by themselves. University Counsel does not allow DMS to digitize a Library DVD if there is an educational or commercial vendor."

The faculty retains the right to use the physical copy. 

Flowchart

Below is a flowchart that describes the process for a request.