Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Cinema Studies Research Guide!
This homepage contains resources for cinema studies in general. See other tabs for resources relating to specific classes or subject areas.
Where to search for movies
UTK Streaming Video Guide
This guide will provide information about and resources for streamed video at Hodges Library
Search the library's catalog using OneSearch. Select "DVDs" and/or "streaming media" to limit your search results
British Pathe (YouTube)
This newsreel archive is a treasure trove of 85,000 historically and culturally significance films.
AP Film Archives (YouTube)
Film and video archive of the Associated Press offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, dating back to 1893
British Movietone Archives (YouTube)
Newsreel archive spanning 1895 to 1986, contains coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, social history, science, lifestyle and quirky.
Reference Sources for Film
Finding Articles in Databases
Database trial July 21, 2022- October 20, 2022
Hollywood, Moral Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.
Please provide Feedback!
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database covering magazines and scholarly journals.
A full-text archive of selected scholarly journals. Most titles have an embargo on recently published articles.
Full text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Covers journals in communication and mass media studies.
more... Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Includes trade and film fan magazines from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. Covers film, music, radio, television, and theater.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database
Resources for film history, theory, and criticism from The International Federation of Film Archives. Citations and select full-text of academic and popular film journals as well as holdings information of silent-era film archives.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
A guide to the journal literature on film, dance, television, and other performing arts.
Limited to 4 simultaneous users. MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, linguistics, literary theory/criticism, and the dramatic arts (film, television, theatre, etc.)
more... Film & Television Literature Index
The database provides access to hundreds of publications related to film and television studies.
Some articles will be available as full text online, but many appear only as citations or abstracts. Leaving the "Linked Full Text" box unchecked will return the most search results. You may use interlibrary loan to request items that are not available as full text online.
This database replaces the Film Literature Index Online, created by Indiana University, which was retired on December 6th, 2021. more...
Lantern The free search platform of Media History Digital Library. Search over 2,772,417 pages of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound
IMDB (Internet Movie Database)
A searchable database of more than 250 million data items including more than 4 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and 8 million cast and crew members.
For each movie listed, MetaCritic collects and averages together critiques from professional critics to generate a score. Includes links to the original, full reviews.
MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine)
Large online database of movie review containing over 100,000 titles. Also includes news and user discussions.
Online aggregator of movie and TV show reviews from professional critics.
I am here to help you with your research needs and to help you find the information you need to successfully complete your projects and assignments.
I'm happy to meet in person (current health guidelines allowing), via Zoom, or email.
No question too big or small - just ask!
Contributions to Cinema Studies Research Guide
Suggest a purchase
Anyone in the UTK community can submit a purchase suggestion to the Libraries. Fill out the online form
New Cinema Studies Books at UT Libraries