Selected Books from Hodges Library
Business Models in the Area of Logistics by ISBN: 9783834965332Publication Date: 2011The significance of managing end-to-end supply chains from one hand has been the subject of discussion for over ten years. Regina M. Neubauer provides an answer on how such a scenario might work by studying enterprises in the European logistics industry.
From Total Quality Control to Lean Six Sigma by ISBN: 9788847026582Publication Date: 2012The main purpose of this paper is to compare and discuss the evolution of six important management systems: Japanese Total Quality Control (JTQC), Total Quality Management (TQM), Deming's System of Profound Knowledge, Business Process Reengineering (BPR), Lean Thinking and Six Sigma. Indeed the contribution of this work lies in the concurrent analysis and classification, by the means of a literature review, of the results and critical implementation factors of the six systems. Deming's Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) has been used to classify the findings from the literature review.
Global Supply Chains: Evaluating Regions on an EPIC Framework - Economy, Politics, Infrastructure, and Competence by ISBN: 9780071792318Publication Date: 2014A proven framework for measuring the supply chain potential of geographic regions. Managing a complex global supply chain requires a strategic assessment of the various factors that can affect decisions on procurement, manufacturing, warehousing, logistics, distribution, and sales. Co-written by renowned experts in global supply chain management, this book presents a systematic, structured approach to evaluating ten global regions with respect to their supply chain activities.
Library Journal & Trade Publications
Here is a list of academic journal specific to Supply Chain Management that UT Libraries subscribes to:
- International Journal of Logistics Management
- Academic journal focusing on logistics management.
- International Journal of Physical Distribution & Logistics Management
- Academic journal containing many special issues focused on topics like sustainability, retail logistics, and outsourcing
- Journal of Business Logistics.
- Academic journal focusing on logistics and supply chains.
- Journal of Purchasing and Supply Management
- Academic journal focusing on purchasing management and supply management
- Journal of Supply Chain Management
- Academic journal focusing on SCM.
- Transportation
- Academic journal focusing on transportation and logistics.
Trade Publications in Supply Chain Management
- The American Journal of Transportation
The American Journal of Transportation covers all aspects of transportation from air cargo, to maritime shipping, to international trade. AJOT delivers industry insights and coverage of events shaping the transportation industry.
- CSCMP's Supply Chain Quarterly
This quarterly publication provides the latest news on domestic and international supply chain operations, as well as procurement, manufacturing, financing, warehousing, and product design.
- DC Velocity
DC VELOCITY coverages all aspects of logistics including internal logistics within a distribution center or warehouse, external logistics relating to the transport of goods and freight, the overarching information technologies that support and integrate the two, and the strategies that optimize logistics.
- Food Logistics
Food Logistics dedicates to covering the movement of product through the food supply chain. Every issue provides news, trends, and best practices that will help grocery and foodservice manufacturers and distributors to make better business decisions.
- Global Trade
Global Trade educate their readers on ways to utilize the global marketplace to increase market share and corporate profits, through creative efficiencies in cargo transportation, banking, joint ventures, outsourcing, and expansion opportunities.
- Inbound Logistics
This provides news on supply chain management, warehousing, logistics, transportation (including cargo and freight), and logistics IT.
- Industry Week
IndustryWeek provide coverages of the U.S. manufacturing sector with a focus on tech, operations, leadership, supply chain & workforce
- Journal of Commerce (JoC)
Weekly magazine with a focus on transportation logistics and global trade.
- Logistics Management
Logistics Management magazine is published monthly on news and trends in logistics, transportation, warehousing, distribution and materials handling.
- Material Handling & Logistics
Material Handling & Logistics (MH&L;) delivers the contemporary view of material handling and logistics as functions that support the bottom line.
- Supply & Demand Chain Executive
Supply & Demand Chain Executive (SDCE) covers the entire end-to-end global supply chain in every vertical. The content and editorial scope of the publication includes news and industry comments, in-depth technical articles, best practices and case studies, industry round-up and special features.
- SupplyChainBrain
SupplyChainBrain identifies emerging trends, strategies and best practices, forward-thinking ideas, cutting-edge solutions and the latest innovations.
- Supply Chain Frontier
Newsletter from the MIT Global SCALE (Supply Chain and Logistics Excellence) Network.
- Supply Chain Management Review
Similar to Harvard Business Review, SCMR primarily publishes columns and features contributed by business school professors, supply chain management practitioners and industry analysts. Topics include sourcing and procurement, software and technology, transportation and logistics, supply chain education, and other topics relating to the supply chain.
- Transport Topics
This weekly newspaper places an emphasis on trucking, logistics, and intermodal transportation. They release Top 100 and Top 50 yearly lists that show financial and operating information of the top logistics companies, global freight carriers, for-hire carriers, and private carriers in North America.