Primary Source Databases
- SCOUT Online SearchSpecial Collections Online @ UT
- America : History and Life with Full Text
Indexes scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada. Some access to full-text articles is available.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature : North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family
Provides a visual and searchable archive illustrating how American day- to-day life, attitudes, mores, and behaviors changed over time.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Proquest Historical NewspapersTitles include Boston Globe Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Hartford Courant, Baltimore Sun, NY Times, NY Tribune, and San Francisco Chronicle. Dates vary. You can select newspapers to search from this page by clicking on change button at top of page. Link searches both newspapers and periodicals together.
- Everyday life & women in America : c.1800-1920
Primary source material addressing 19th and early 20th century issues including politics, social and gender issues, religion, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, pastimes, and more.
- Archives UnboundDigital collections of historical documents. The Library has purchased 18 of the archive collections. These include the collections focused on African American and civil rights history, early cinema, and the mountain south.
- ProQuest History VaultPrimary source materials in digital format. Topics include African-American History, Southern plantation records, Vietnam War, and national security.
- Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Digitized historical U.S. newspapers. The UT Libraries has added selected Tennessee newspapers to this cooperative venture.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes projects and archives with reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
- The Sixties
Primary source material and personal narratives from 1960-1974 in the United States. Topics include the civil rights movement, the Vietnam War and the associated protest movement, radical movements, and counter-culture.
- World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions
Primary source material from hundreds of fairs and expositions around the world. Of local interest, the collection has documents from the 1982 Knoxville World’s Fair and the 1913 Knoxville National Conservation Exposition.
- American History, 1493-1945
From the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, this archive documents American history from the earliest settlers to until the end of World War II.
- Smithsonian Collections Online
Primary source materials from four Smithsonian collections: Evolution of Flight, Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry, World's Fairs and Expositions, and Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaDPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Images and Video
- Associated Press Images Collection
Contemporary and historical images from the Associated Press.
- Films On Demand
A collection of thousands of educational streaming videos in the Humanities and Sciences. Browse by topic and popular producers.
- Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary streaming video collection containing documentaries, films, interviews, music, news programs, and performances.
- American History in Video
Collection of videos documenting events in American history.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaDPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
History and Medieval Studies Librarian
AP Images
Calvin Coolidge on Family Farm
Orange Pickers 1938