Primary Source Databases
- American History, 1493-1945
From the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, this archive documents American history from the earliest settlers to until the end of World War II.
- Everyday life & women in America : c.1800-1920
Primary source material addressing 19th and early 20th century issues including politics, social and gender issues, religion, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, pastimes, and more.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes projects and archives with reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
UTK Libraries has access to the basic edition and content added through 2019.
- Sabin Americana : History of the Americas, 1500-1926Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.
Media
- Films On Demand
A collection of thousands of educational streaming videos in the Humanities and Sciences. Browse by topic and popular producers.
- Academic Video OnlineA large streaming video and audio collection from Alexander Street Press. Includes documentaries, films, interviews, music, news programs, and performances.
*Please note that this resource does not currently work on Firefox browsers.* - The March of Time
Newsreels historically shown in movie theatres and television produced by Time Inc. from 1935-1967.
