Primary Sources for TVA
- Annual Report of the Tennessee Valley AuthorityCall Number: TK1425.M8 T35Publication Date: 1935-Available in Hodges stacks, microfilm (storage), and Special Collections. See catalog record for details and dates.
- An indexed bibliography of the Tennessee Valley AuthorityCall Number: Z7164.P97 T3 1936Publication Date: 1936In Special Collections. An early bibliography of articles about TVA.
- Indexed Bibliography of the Tennessee Valley Authority, Cumulative SupplementCall Number: Z7164.P97 T31936 Suppl.Publication Date: 1936-1968In Special Collections. Bibliography of articles on TVA.
- TVA. [Principal text of the Tennessee Valley Authority's Annual report to Congress]Call Number: TK1425.M8 T3512Publication Date: 1941-1968
Primary Resources for ORNL
- Oak Ridge National Laboratory Annual ReportCall Number: QC789.O34 U5Publication Date: 1968-1973Only for years indicated. More years available online.
- ORNL ReviewPublication Date: 1967-2014From the website: The ORNL Review showcases research and development activities at the Department of Energy's largest science and energy laboratory.
Open Access Collections
- National Security ArchiveA large searchable archive of declassified U.S. documents hosted by George Washington University.
- The Manhattan Project: An Interactive HistoryCreated by the Department of Energy. Some sections are not yet active. Events and Resources pages are currently available.
- Bulletin of the Atomic ScientistsSearchable full-text in Google Books. From the website: The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists is the premier public resource on scientific and technological developments that impact global security. Founded by Manhattan Project Scientists, the Bulletin's iconic "Doomsday Clock" stimulates solutions for a safer world.
- New Deal NetworkFrom the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute. Photographs, political cartoons, and texts on the New Deal including TVA.
- WPA/TVA Archaeological PhotographsFrom the collection of the UT McClung Museum. Images taken by WPA workers in the 1930s of archaeological artifacts uncovered as part of TVA excavations.
- 1933 TVA ActText of the original act from the TVA website.
- National Archives and Records AdministrationClick on Research our Records to access the National Archives Catalog. Search in the box provided. You can then limit to online items only or limit by using the facets at the left side of the page. A multi-volume paper guide is also available in the reference collection at call number: CD3026 1995.
Official Websites
- Tennessee Valley AuthorityLook under About TVA for links to historical material.
- Oak Ridge National LaboraroryClick on history under About ORNL to find links to historic photographs and reports.
History and Medieval Studies Librarian
Special Collections Resources
The UT Special Collections has several manuscript collections on TVA and a few that include material on ORNL. You can search for manuscript collections using SCOUT. All manuscript collections are housed off-site and must be requested at least one day in advance.
- The Tennessee Valley Authority: Research Materials at the Special Collections LibraryThis bibliography lists both rare books and manuscripts related to TVA held in the UT Libraries Special Collections. It has not bee updated since 2007.
Y12 Facility in Oak Ridge
Calutron operators
TVA Political Cartoon
February 18, 1936, Kansas City Star
From the New Deal Network.