Manuscripts and Rare Books
- Archives Unbound
A multi-disciplinary topically-focused collection of historical documents. Subjects include African American and civil rights history, early cinema, and the mountain South.
- ProQuest History VaultPrimary source materials in digital format. Topics include African-American History, Southern plantation records, Vietnam War, and national security.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes projects and archives with reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
UTK Libraries has access to the basic edition and content added through 2019.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature : North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family
Provides a visual and searchable archive illustrating how American day- to-day life, attitudes, mores, and behaviors changed over time.
- Everyday life & women in America : c.1800-1920
Primary source material addressing 19th and early 20th century issues including politics, social and gender issues, religion, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, pastimes, and more.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
Explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975 in Britain and the U.S. Full-text of documents, images, and video.
- The Sixties : Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1960-1974.
Primary source material and personal narratives from 1960-1974 in the United States. Topics include the civil rights movement, the Vietnam War and the associated protest movement, radical movements, and counter-culture.
Newspapers
- Proquest Historical NewspapersIncludes Arizona Constitution, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily News, Baltimore Sun, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Detroit Free Press, Hartford Courant, Indianapolis Sun, Los Angeles Times, Nashville Tennessean, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, New York Tribune St. Louis Post-Dispatch, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal & Washington Post. Dates vary. Link allows user to search both newspapers and periodicals together. To change the titles searched, click on the "change" link at top of page.
- Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Digitized historical U.S. newspapers. The UT Libraries has added selected Tennessee newspapers to this cooperative venture.
- African American Newspapers. Series 1, 1827-1998
A NewsBank collection of over 200 full-text U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1993
Full-text collection of U.S. newspapers. See list of titles.
- Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950Full-text of an influential popular magazine published by two prominent US publishers, Joseph Patterson, the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, the Chicago Tribune.
Periodicals
- American PeriodicalsFull-text access to periodicals published between 1740 and 1940. Can be searched in combination with the Proquest Historical Newspapers. Link allows user to search both newspapers and periodicals together. To change the titles searched, click on the "change" link at top of page. Access is limited to UT users.
- The Nation Archive Premium EditionFull-text access to The Nation, America's oldest weekly magazine with 135+ years of reporting, opinion, and criticism.
Multi-format Collections
- World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions
Primary source material from hundreds of fairs and expositions around the world. Of local interest, the collection has documents from the 1982 Knoxville World’s Fair and the 1913 Knoxville National Conservation Exposition.
- American History, 1493-1945
From the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, this archive documents American history from the earliest settlers to until the end of World War II.
- Smithsonian Collections Online
Primary source materials from four Smithsonian collections: Evolution of Flight, Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry, World's Fairs and Expositions, and Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive.
Records for Individuals
- Ancestry Library Edition
Census records, birth, marriage and death records and immigration records dating back to 1500 for personal ancestry research or data.
History and Medieval Studies Librarian
Government and Legal Documents
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Access to a broad range of previously classified federal records from the twentieth and twenty first centuries, including presidential libraries, diplomatic correspondence, domestic surveillance, and military reports.
Press, Images, and Video
- Associated Press Images Collection
Contemporary and historical images from the Associated Press.
- Films On Demand
A collection of thousands of educational streaming videos in the Humanities and Sciences. Browse by topic and popular producers.
- Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary streaming video collection containing documentaries, films, interviews, music, news programs, and performances.
- The March of Time
Newsreels historically shown in movie theatres and television produced by Time Inc. from 1935-1967.
- Associated Press Collections Online
Collection includes online versions of wire copy, correspondence, memos, and internal publications from the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive.