Poster from Amnesty International
Short Film from March of Time
1944 March of Time short documentary on the state of affairs in South Africa
From the Mail & Guardian
From the University of Pretoria Digital Collections
Rock Art, Cape Town, South Africa
Online Digital Collections
- Traces of TruthFull-text documents relating to the South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC). Sponsored by Historical Papers (The Library, University of the Witwatersrand) and the South African History Archives Project.
- Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA)DISA is a freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994. Open documents in a new window.
- African National CongressOrganization devoted to social, economic and political change in South Africa. Click on the Documents tab to access full-text of items including articles, books, leaflets, and letters.
- University of Pretoria Digital CollectionsWide-ranging group of collections including architecture, rock art, and campus history.
- Truth and Reconciliation CommissionFull-text records of human rights violations and amnesty hearings from commission set up to investigate abuses stemming from apartheid. Includes an extensive list of links to other pertinent websites.
- Truth and Reconciliation Commission ReportFull-text of the Commission's report.
Additional Links
- University of Pretoria Links to Open Access JournalsLinks to Directory of Open Access Journals and BioMed Central.
- South African History OnlineOnline articles, documents and timelines created by the only independent history education and research institute in South Africa.
- Mail and GuardianOnline version of South Africa's major newspaper. Good source of contemporary news.
- SABCSouth African broadcasting company website. Good source of contemporary news.
- South African Government WebsitesLinks to various departments in South African government.
