Divine Chocolate, Ghana
From Global Commodities
Primary Source Databases
- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014Digitized edition of The Times (London), the "world's newspaper of record." Full-text of the newspaper is searchable; may also browse issues page by page.
- Proquest Historical NewspapersFull-text of several U. S. newspapers. Good for a U. S. perspective on world events. You can select newspapers to search by clicking on the boxes next to the newspaper titles in the second part of the screen. Click continue at the bottom of the screen after you have made your selection.
- Associated Press Images Collection
Contemporary and historical images from the Associated Press.
- CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-current)
Resources devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
- Black Studies CenterAlthough the focus of this collection is on African Americans, It includes many documents on Africa and the global black experience as well.
- Foreign Broadcast Information ServiceFull-text of FBIS reports translated into English. 1974-1996 available online; 1996-2004 available on CD-ROM in the Hoskins Library Storage Reading Room. FBIS was a monitoring agency for the CIA. This collection of documents from foreign media services is a resource for news as it was presented around the world. Use the Countries and Political Entities tab the select Africa then pick the country you are interested in from the list. The search box will search your terms within the documents related to the country you selected.
- Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary streaming video collection containing documentaries, films, interviews, music, news programs, and performances.
- Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
This streaming audio database produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural ExchangePrimary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Primary source documents from 1490 to 2007 related to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world.
