Latin American History: Open Access Resources

Collaborative effort of consortial libraries to provide access to journal table of contents, full-text of social science literature, and digital images of more than 75,000 pages of Mexican and Argentinian presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present.

Information and documents on European study of Latin America.

Extensive list of open access newspaper sites compiled at Bowling Green State University.

Extensive list of open access primary sources for Latin America compiled at Bowling Green State University.

Statistical series for more than forty economic and social indicators over the whole twentieth century, covering twenty countries in the region. It is designed as a resource for economic and social historians worldwide. Coverage is now being expanded, both backwards to 1870 and forwards to 2010.

Collection from the Library of Congress. Includes 18th century maps of the Caribbean.

Digital copies of ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and Afro-descended peoples in the Americas.

Images from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University from 1492 to ca. 1825. Includes both North and South America.

Includes rare books, maps and newspapers that tell the story of the founding of the French colony of Saint Domingue (once the most lucrative colony in the Americas), its demise through the Haitian Revolution (the world's only successful slave revolution) and the founding of Haiti in its place.

Full-text of one of the world's largest collection of books printed in Spanish America. Primarily in Spanish, the site includes links to sub-collections by country.

Full-text of political ephemera including both pamphlets and posters. Primarily 20th century. In both Spanish and English.

A gallery of color images, interpretive essays and a searchable bibliography on visual culture in Spanish America.