Primary Source Databases--Latin American
- Latin American Newspapers. Series 1full-text newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean history, sixteenth to twentieth centuryThis resource is a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750Database of printed works created in Europe related to the Americas compiled by Brown University's John Carter Brown Library. Full-text of items is not included although may be available in other sources like Hathi Trust or Early English Books.
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
A collection of 18th and 19th century Caribbean newspapers. Essential for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics.
- Caribbean LiteratureA collection of poetry and fiction produced in the Caribbean during the 19th and 20th centuries. Essential for the study of the Caribbean and the Black Diaspora.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
Collection of the Oliveiria Lima Library. Manoel de Oliveira Lima was a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian, and book collector who amassed several thousand books and pamphlets documenting Brazilian and Portuguese history and culture.
Primary Source Databases--U.S.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1993Early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, with emphasis on the early years. Good for a U.S. perspective on events in Latin America.
- American PeriodicalsFull-text access to U.S. periodicals published between 1740 and 1940. Good for a U.S. perspective on events in Latin America.
- Sabin Americana : History of the Americas, 1500-1926Full-text based on the bibliography of works on the Americas compiled by Joseph Sabin. Covers 1500-1926.
Primary Source Database--British
- Early English Books OnlineFull-text of books printed in Britain and in English printed in other countries published from 1475 to 1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineFull-text of books published in the United Kingdom from 1701-1800.
- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014Full-text of the primary London newspaper from 1785-1985
History and Medieval Studies Librarian
Primary Source for Latin American History
From the Library of Congress