Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Using EndNote with UT Resources

This guide describes UT resources available on the citation management software, EndNote.

On this Page

If you don't find what you need on this page, email us at endnote@utk.edu.

Preferences

Exporting Citations from Databases

Adding Citations to EndNote from UT Libraries OneSearch

Connection Files and Output Styles

EndNote and Symplectic Elements

Using NVivo with EndNote

Using LaTeX with EndNote

Preferences

Below are some ways to make EndNote work effectively with UTK Library resources.

Find Full Text Preferences

To use FFT off-campus, you will need to set up the Find Full Text preferences in EndNote:

In Mac, go under EndNote X9 to Preferences. Preferences is found under Edit on Windows machines.

In the Find Full Text Preferences, put in the following information:

OpenURL Path: : https://libkey.io/libraries/203/openurl

URL: https://utk.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

You may check all the boxes above these two URLs.

Exporting Citations from Databases

Most databases now have very easy ways of exporting ctations from a database directly into EndNote.

Adding Citations to EndNote from UT Libraries OneSearch

You can export records from the library catalog directly into EndNote.

Connection Files and Output Styles

Connection files allow EndNote to interact directly with the Library's catalog and databases.

Ouput styles determine the way that references in a paper or bibliography will be formatted. The EndNote program comes with many styles already available, but others may be downloaded directly from endnote.com

EndNote and Symplectic Elements

Using NVivo with EndNote

Using LaTeX with EndNote

One of the easiest way to get EndNote references into LaTeX documents is to convert them to a .bib JabRef library.  To do this you will need to install JabRef.

1. Select the references in EndNote that you wish to export to JabRef

2. Under File...select Export

3. Export in .txt format with BibTeX Export as the output style selected (may need to click on Select Another Style)

4. Once you have saved the file, change its extension to .bib

5. Open the .bib file with JabRef

6. If you wish to rename the identifiers, go to Tools...select Autogenerate BibTeX Keys

7. Follow instructions about inserting BibTeX references into LaTeX documents such as at "Bibliography in LaTeX with Bibtex"

(There are many other tutorials such as this on the internet.)