Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Audience: UTK Veterinary College

Lists of books for courses years 1-4, + other teaching and research support

Tiny URL for this case and help

Need help?  |    Ann Viera, Veterinary Librarian   |   annviera@utk.edu      | 865-406-9374  (call or send text)

 

Ebooks help:  https://libguides.utk.edu/ebookguide

Use Chrome? Get the Nomad Extension and get an article with fewer clicks

Three resources you will use in practice or on clinics to learn about this week

Get to know these two veterinary databases for this first case plus how to search the Web for goat information, suggestions in box below.

Database/resource What to know about it
Consultant from Cornell Freely available, 5300 diseases of 8 species, including caprine, updated daily by Dr. Pete White
CAB ABSTRACTS

Subscription access only, it is the international research database for agriculture and veterinary medicine. 

Beginner's tip:

If you are a PubMed searcher:  keep PubMed as your first-choice database. 

Depending on your information need and species, you may need to add a search of CAB.

CAB indexes all veterinary journals plus theses, dissertations, books, and more. 

PubMed only indexes a subset of vet journals, about 90 out of 4,000 total indexed.  

PubMed search for goats:  35,718

CAB ABSTRACTS search for goat* or caprine:   106, 752 

 

Advanced Tip: One difference between searching CAB ABSTRACTS and PubMed

  • PubMed automatically optimizes a search.  Searching for the word [goats] will get most articles about goats due to the depth and quality of metadata and the PubMed algorithm that is designed to assist health care professionals. 
  • When searching CAB ABTRACTS, the searcher has to optimize the search.  Therefore, in CAB, always OR together common and scientific species names. For example in CAB: 

goat* OR caprine     retrieves more than just goat* and is an optimized search for this species 

Goat information on the Web

University Extension programs provide quality information on goats for vets and goat owners

See boxes below for search tips and examples

For more information, ask Ann Viera, Veterinary Librarian annviera@utk.edu, or see the evidence-based veterinary medicine guide.

Web Search and Evaluation Tips

Search Tip: 

  • Use  Advanced search in Google and limit to .edu domains when searching the Web for this case. 
  •  Can also try limiting to .gov or .org
  • This will quickly get you to quality sites from Extension and other government or organization web pages.  Limited to .gov or .org might also be useful.

Sample searches: (these are very broad examples, please use more specific search words)

[small ruminants] limited to .edu domains

[goats ] limited to .edu domains

Always evaluate information from the Web, scientific journals, or elsewhere!

Wilma the Goat Case books and other resources

Examples of some high-quality Extension, University, or USDA resources and one company Web site:

Books: