Research Guides: Ebooks: Finding Ebooks

Need Help?

Click this button to start a chat with our research assistance team. (Opens in a new window)

Ebook Databases

ProQuest Ebook Central
A multidisciplinary collection of academic e-books from a wide variety of publishers. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
EBSCO Ebook Collection
A collection of e-books covering a wide range of subjects.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Taylor & Francis E-Book Collection
Multidisciplinary e-books on the Taylor & Francis platform.
Springer Nature Link
Full-text journals and e-books on the Springer platform.
If the content of a Springer Link article is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format."
Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary selection of full-text journals and ebooks published by Wiley.
If the content of a Wiley database is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu for assistance.
Users of keyboard or swipe/gesture navigation may require assistance with this resource and should avoid MacOS or iOS devices. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for further assistance.
Google Books
Search a large index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Click on the LOG IN button to get full access. Select University of Tennessee, Knoxville from the drop-down list, and log in with your NetID/password.
Literature Online
A collection of English and American poetry, drama and prose. Plus, biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources.
Oxford Academic
A multi-disciplinary collection of Oxford ebooks and journals.
If the content of an Oxford University Press online journal is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an
accessible alternative format. Users with low vision should avoid accessing Oxford University Press online journals on a mobile
device, as the content cannot be magnified on mobile platforms.
Project Muse
Full-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.

Searching for Ebooks

The primary way to find ebooks through the library is to search our catalog using OneSearch.

Once through to the results page, you can limit to ebooks using the options on the left.

From there, all of your results should be ebooks or ebook chapters.

Identifying Ebooks

Within OneSearch, it can be difficult to identify an ebook. Each item has a small label just above the title to indicate the type of material it is. For example, here we have both a full ebook and an ebook chapter.

However, sometimes the library has both an ebook and a print copy of a book. In these cases, the item will list both "online access" and a physical location like the "stacks".

Book reviews are often listed under the same title as the book itself. When searching for a particular book, be on the look out for the "review" tag, and be sure the author listed is the author of the book you are hoping to find.