Research Guides: Audience: UTK Veterinary College: Sour Milk Case

ACQUIRE: where to search for veterinary clinical information

Suggested list of databases / information services to search to acquire evidence to answer clinical questions that arise in practice.

Tips:

Develop a list of databases to search based on your practice focus, access to databases, and experience searching for evidence.
If your go-to database has a subscription fee, include that in your employment contract negotiations.

VetCompanion-- point-of-care clinical information service with graded evidence
305 topics in Dogs and Cats only
Free to students with registration or
UTK Libraries has a subscription so all have access
VIN-- Veterinary Information Network VINcyclopedia of Diseases Expert opionion point-of-care service
Check out the VINcyclopedia of Diseases (formerly VIN Associate) for expert opinion on 800 canine diseases and 600 feline diseases, also exotic diseases and swine are included. Links to client handouts in Veterinary Partner.
Journal Abstracts: access to the veterinary journal literature that report research results. If the research was well-designed, evidence will be higher quality. Always evaluate any information you find relevant to the case.
Message boards are crowdsourced data, not particularly strong evidence but can be useful depending on topic.
Also provides access to conference proceedings which can be valuable depending on topic!
Vetlexicon from VetStream -- expert opinion point-of-care service in vetmed
Dogs, cats, horses, cows, exotics, rabbits
More species and topics plus 1000 client handouts.
CONSULTANT from Cornell
5,200 diseases of 8 species.

CABI: CAB Abstracts
If the evidence exists for your clinical question, it is most likely to be indexed by CAB. For high-stakes searches, CAB ABSTRACTS must be searched. Searcher must spend the time to filter for quality.

PubMed
Partially indexes the veterinary literature. Killer app: a quality filter called Clinical Queries, use to apply evidence-based medicine filters developed at McMaster U to quickly find best evidence.

more... less...

For a tutorial on using Clinical Queries, see http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmedtutorial/020_570.html.
A specific tutorial for searching PubMed for veterinary clinicians is below.
VetSREV
VetSRev, the database of systematic reviews in veterinary medicine and science from U. Nottingham. See Below for "Getting Started Guide"
Knowledge Summaries from RCVS
Best Bets for Vets
A BET is a simple review of the current best evidence available to answer very common and specific clinical questions.
Google Scholar--"the catch-all"
The most efficient way to use of Google Scholar is the "Cited By" feature which will tell you if an article as been cited and by whom. Do search Google Scholar, but clients can also search it, so vet students need to learn to use the professional databases listed above as part of professional skill set.
UpToDate--point-of-care resource for human medicine--VetCompanion and VetStream are the veterinary equivalents
Human only. Can be used for small animal medicine. "access to over 10,000 topics in over 22 specialties. Click on a specialty to view the list of topics."

Web search and evaluation tips

Search Tip: Use Advanced search in Google and limit to .edu or .gov or .org domains when searching the Web for this case.

Sample searches:

[mastitis dairy] limited to .edu domains

[udder health] limited to .edu domains

Always evaluate information from the Web or from scientific journals!

The Web vs Library Databases: a Comparison

Sour Milk Case Books

Pain Management in Animals by P. A Flecknell; Avril Waterman-Pearson
E-book and Paper
Mastitis Control in Dairy Herds by R. W. Blowey; Peter Edmondson
E-book and Paper
Understanding Animal Breeding by Richard M. Bourdon
Paper only
Reproduction in Farm Animals
Paper only
Anatomy and Physiology of Farm Animals
Paper only
Georgis' Parasitology for Veterinarians
Paper only
Manual of Foot Care in Cattle 2nd ed by Jan Shearer; Sarel van Amstel
Paper only
Pathways to Pregnancy and Parturition by Phil Senger
Paper only
Guide to Bovine Clinics
Paper only
Herd Health by Otto M. Radostits
Paper only
Bovine Laminitis and Lameness: a hands-on approach by Paul R. Greenough
E-book and Paper

update of Lameness in Cattle by Greenough and Weaver 3rd ed 1997
Veterinary Medicine 11th ed 2016 by Peter D. Constable; Kenneth W. Hinchcliff; Stanley H. Done; Walter Gruenberg
Paper only
Illustrated Anatomy of the Bovine Male and Female Reproductive Tracts by K. June Mullins; Richard G. Saacke
Paper only
Guidelines for the recognition & assessment of animal pain by Kent
Paper only
Mastitis in dairy Production by IDF International Mastitis Conference Staff (Contribution by); H. Hogeveen (Editor)
Paper only
Herd Health and Production Management in Dairy Practice by A. Brand
Paper only
Tabulation of FARAD Comparative and Veterinary Pharmacokinetic Data by A. L. Craigmill; J. E. Riviere; A. I. Webb; Arthur L. Craigmill; Jim E. Riviere
Paper only
Essentials of Bovine Anatomy by K. M. Dyce; Cornelis Johannes Gerardus Wensing
Paper only
Handbook of Veterinary Drugs by Dowling, Allen, Pringle, Smith, Pasloske, Dayger, Woods
Paper only
Dairying by Beever, Kebreab, Mills
Paper only
Veterinary Pharmacy by Kayne & Jepsen
Paper only
Milking, milk production hygiene and udder health by Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Paper only
Atlas of bovine anatomy by Chris J. Pasquini
Paper only
Handbook of Comparative Pharmacokinetics by Arthur L. Craigmill; Stephen F. Sundlof; Jim E. Riviere
Paper only
Cattle Lameness and Hoofcare by Roger Blowey
Paper only
Winning the fight against mastitis by W. Philpot Stephen C Nickerson
Paper only
Directory of Feeds and Feed Ingredients by Charles A. Macgregor
Paper only
Feeding Guide by Mike Hutjens
Paper only
Lactation and the Mammary Gland by R. Michael Akers
Paper only
Calf care by C. M. Jones (Coleen M.) A. J Heinrichs (Arlyn Judson), 1955-
Paper only
Topics in nutritional management of the beef cow and calf by Larry C. Hollis; K. C. Olson
Paper only
Dairy nutrition management by Charles J Sniffen (Charles James), 1937-; Thomas H Herdt (Thomas Henry)
Paper only
The Application of nutrition in dairy practice : proceedings of a symposium : the Dairy Production Medicine Continuing Education Group Annual Meeting, College of Veterinary Medicine, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina by American Cyanamid Company. Agricultural Division.; Dairy Production Medicine Continuing Education Group Symposium on the Application of Nutrition in Dairy Practice (1988 : Raleigh, N.C.)
Paper only
Dairy Management Practices, Housing, and Cattle Health by American Dairy Science Association Staff
Paper only
Immunology by James A. Roth
Paper only
Physiology of the Mammary Gland by Akira Yokoyama 1927-; Hideo Mizuno; Hiroshi Nagasawa
Paper only
Mineral Nutrition of Livestock by Neville F. Suttle
E-book and Paper
Raising Healthy Cattle by William T. Testerman; James Carlson
Paper only
Fertility : a practical guide for fertility management by Jan Hulsen
Paper only
Emerging, Reemerging, and Persistent Infectious Diseases of Cattle, an Issue of Veterinary Clinics: Food Animal Practice by Sanjay Kapil; D. Scott McVey
Mastitis Control by T. J. G. M. Lam (Editor)
Paper only
Udder health : a practical guide to first-rate udder health by Jan Hulsen T. J. G. M Lam (Theo J. G. M.)
Paper only
Cattle footcare and claw trimming : the origin and prevention of the necrotising inflammations of the corium (ulcerations of the claw) by E. Toussaint Raven R. T Haalstra; D. J Peterse
Paper only
Manual for the Master Hoof Care Technician Program : May 1-4, 2002 by S. R. Van Amstel (Sarel Rens), 1942- Jan K Shearer; Master Hoof Care Technician Program.; University of Tennessee, Knoxville. College of Veterinary Medicine.; University of Florida. College of Veterinary Medicine.
Paper only
Lameness in cattle by C.J. Watson
Paper only
How to read a paper : the basics of evidence-based medicine by Trisha Greenhalgh
E-book and paper
Dairy heifer management by Sandra Godden; Sheila McGuirk
Paper only
Udder health : mastitis prevention and control by West Agro, Inc.
Paper only
Rebhun's Diseases of Dairy Cattle 3rd ed 2018 by Simon F. Peek; Thomas J. Divers
Paper only as of 5/2018
Mastitis Control in Dairy Herds by Roger Blowey; Peter Edmondson
Paper only
Mastitis Control and Milk Quality by American Dairy Science Association Staff
Paper only
Lameness by David E Anderson
Paper only
Mastitis by Philip M Sears; David J Wilson
Paper only
Food Animal Practice by David E. Anderson; Michael Rings
E-book
Veterinary Pathophysiology by Robert H. Dunlop (Editor); Charles-Henri Malbert (Editor)
Paper only
Current veterinary therapy. Food animal practice
Paper only
Veterinary Drug Handbook by Donald C. Plumb
Paper--also available as ebook

More Resources for the Sour Milk Case

DHIA: Dairy Herd Information Association
National Mastitis Council
"The National Mastitis Council is a not-for-profit professional organization devoted to reducing mastitis and enhancing milk quality."
International Dairy Federation
UW Milk Quality Team
"We provide useful and practical information important for the production of high quality milk. The mission of our work is to improve the quality of milk and enhance the profitability and competitiveness of the Wisconsin Dairy Industry in a global economy. The issues addressed and information provided will be important for many people involved in the production of milk–dairy farmers, veterinarians, educators, dairy field representatives and business representatives."
CowSignals.com : barn design, udder health, bedding, etc.
“Cows are constantly giving out information about their housing, health and care.
And cows always tell the truth.” Welcome to the CowSignals® Training Company
"We train cattle farmers, feed consultants, breeding consultants, barn design consultants, vets and other cow enthusiasts throughout the world in the field of practical cattle management."
British Cattle Veterinary Association: DairyCo Mastitis Control Plan
"Welcome to the DairyCo Mastitis Control Plan website, part of a national mastitis initiative developed by veterinary surgeons and supported by DairyCo."
British Cattle Veterinary Association: Healthy Feet Programme
"The DairyCo Healthy Feet Programme (DHFP) aims to help dairy farmers reduce the number of lame cows on their farms by identifying and applying the right management techniques."
Books tagged in the catalog: Sour Milk ABLE
Books for this case are tagged [ sour milk able] in the catalog. We welcome additions to the list. Includes e-books.

Pain Management in Animals by Paul A. Flecknell; Avril Waterman-Pearson
E-book and Paper

Book Chapter on Facilitating Change in Herd Health

Note: this book is currently available as an e-book only.

Facilitating change in herd health by Higgins et al 2012 in Dairy Herd Health
Abstract: This chapter focuses on ways in which veterinary surgeons can facilitate the necessary changes on the farm, particularly those associated to herd health, by encouraging and assisting farmers to take action when required. Many of the challenges involved are discussed, and concepts sourced from human behavioural science and related disciplines are applied in order to promote understanding and provide solutions. A short overview of the principles of evidence-based veterinary medicine is given. The importance of technical knowledge as a requirement for facilitating improvements in dairy herd health is discussed.