Genealogical Sources
- Ancestry Library EditionLarge database of information for individuals including census records, birth, marriage and death records and immigration records dating back to 1500. To see a list of included Cherokee resources, search card catalog by using the link on the upper right side of the search page. Keyword search is most comprehensive.
Multi-format Collections
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North AmericaExplores primary sources dating from the earliest contact with European settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
Coverage from 1524 to 1997. - Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaFull-text primary source collection documenting the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge.
Full-text databases: newspaper articles
Sources are limited to UT users.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersA collection of 19th century newspapers, including U.S. political party newspapers and news dailies that shaped the nation.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1993Includes full-text of the Cherokee Advocate, 1871-1897.
Full-text databases: periodical articles
Sources are limited to UT users.
- American PeriodicalsContains full-text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Full-text databases: books
- Sabin Americana : History of the Americas, 1500-1926Limited to UT users. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography. Contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
- Google BooksDigitized books from Google. Link is to advanced search function. Limit to "full-view only" for full-text books.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryFull-text of millions of books including James Mooney's Myths of the Cherokee.
History and Medieval Studies Librarian
Cherokee family, 1912
Photograph by James Mooney
From the Smithsonian Institution
Lilly Smith, Chief Smith's Daughter, 1888
Photograph by James Mooney
From the Smithsonian Institution