Cherokee: Open Access Resources

Newspaper issues from 1828-1833 digitized as part of Georgia Historic Newspapers, University of Georgia.

Newspaper issues from 1828-1834 digitized by Western Carolina University.

Collection contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States. Digitized by the University of Georgia and the University of Tennessee.

Eastern Cherokee Reservation images from the North Carolina State Archives.

Primarily craft and language-related photographs and text from Western North Carolina University.

Full-text resources from the Library of Congress.

Full-text resources from all departments of the Smithsonian, including the National Anthropological Archives.

The Museum holds extensive documentary material on Cherokee life and culture. The Museum collaborated with the Smithsonian Institution to digitize items related to Cherokee language. Click on the Documenting Endangered Languages link for more information and access to full-text.

Extensive links on the Cherokee language.

Full-text searchable contents of v. 1 (1921) to v. 20 (1942). Also searchable are the tables of contents of v. 21 (1943) to v. 80 (2002). All volumes 1921 to present are available in Hodges stacks at call number F691.C55.

Full-text of typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories, as well as the condition and conduct of life there.

full-text of newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s.

Extensive collection of images and text from libraries and other repositories across the U.S. UT Libraries is a participating member.

Newspaper for Cherokee, NC.

Newspaper for Tahlequah, OK.

Organization that supports the creation, development, and interpretation of the Trail of Tears National Historic Trail.