It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
(often defaults to Proquest Legislative Insight)
Comprehensive index to the U.S. Congress. Provides full-text of congressional publications including bills, laws, hearings, transcripts, regulations, political news, and analytical reports. Formerly called: LexisNexis Congressional.
A companion to ProQuest Legislative Insight, Regulatory Insight offers U.S. federal administrative law histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders by compiling pertinent Federal Register articles into a research-friendly work space similar to that provided in Legislative Insight.
Federal Government and Spending Databases Sources (found in Libguide: Federal, State, Local / Budget Allocations)
Among other services, it also assigns cost expectation to proposed programs. Also, good to research federal programs (appropriations law, reports). Example can find some things on TANF here or some federal housing assistance.
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
govinfo provides access to the same publications and search functionality as FDsys, but has a new look and new features.
Both FDsys and govinfo are websites that provide access to the same repository of content. See FDsys Transistion for a guide to finding certain FDsys resources on govinfo.
Upon the retirement of FDsys in December, links to FDsys, including PURLs, will automatically be redirected by GPO to govinfo.
(Formerly LexisNexis Academic) Provides content from US and international magazines, journals, newspapers, television and radio broadcasts dating back mostly from the 1990s with some content from the 1970s. Also includes legal research sources and business information for US and international companies. Can sometimes find state legislation here.
Blue book or Bluebook is a term often referring to an almanac or other compilation of statistics and information. It was last updated in 2015 so some links may be wrong. Also, not all states have a "Blue Book" or State encyclopedia. In these cases, efforts have been made to direct users to resources that contain at least some of the information available from a "Blue Book."
The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide.
MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and institutions in an increasingly integrated world. Not a government site.
This resource includes PAIS International and covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.