Social Work: Statistics & Data

From the U.S Governement's usa.gov site on "Data and Statistcs about the U.S." There are links to Census data and a variety of federal agencies where statistics and data can be found.

Fast Statistics from the CDC

CDC National Center for Health Statistics home page

Link ot the CC National Center for Health Statistics: "Health, United States" page

Data from "FastStats" site on older United States Citizens.

Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

"The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. ... The mission of the Forum is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families. The Forum also aims to improve the reporting and dissemination of information on the status of children and families. The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time."

From the Department of Health and Human Services, this site provides federal and state adoption, foster care and child matltreatment statistics and reports.

"A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, we provide access to print and electronic publications, websites, databases, and online learning tools for improving child welfare practice, including resources that can be shared with families."

The Bureau of Justice Statics (BJS) is a component of Office of Justice Prorogams in the U.S. Department of Justice. Its purpose is "to collect, analyze, publish and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government."

Direct link to the Bureaur of Justice Statistics' web site for "Corrections." "Corrections refers to the supervision of persons arrested for, convicted of, or sentenced for criminal offenses. Correctional populations fall into two general categories: institutional corrections and community corrections. Corrections data, with a few exceptions, covers adult agencies or facilities and adult offenders. The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) Corrections Unit maintains over 30 data collections. Most are annual collections of administrative data from correctional administrators, ranging from basic population counts and offender demographic characteristics to facility capacity, programs, staff, and resources."

The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program generates reliable statistics for use in law enforcement. It also provides information for students of criminal justice, researchers, the media, and the public. The program has been providing crime statistics since 1930. The UCR Program includes data from more than 18,000 city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies. Agencies participate voluntarily and submit their crime data either through a state UCR program or directly to the FBI's UCR Program.

Direct link to the Bureau of Justice Statitcs web site for "Human Trafficking"

Direct link to the Bureau of Justice Statistics' web page on "Violent Crime."

The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. NIMH is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the largest biomedical research agency in the world. NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). This is a link to the NIMH page that has statistics divided into topical links.

Substance Abuse and Metnal Helath Services Administratin (SAMHSA) is part of U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. This site provides links to reports, surveys, and program evaluations related to substance abuse and mental health.

"The Tennessee State Data Center is a cooperative program of the State of Tennessee, The University of Tennessee and the U.S. Census Bureau. Data Centers in each state assist the Bureau by disseminating Census data, as well as other federal data sets and information."

This Data Services Libugide is a one-stop-shop for all things related to Research Data Management.

Libguide on "Finding Social Sciences Data For Research", also contains some additional links to data resources by topic.

Datasets and statistical sources available through the Library