A company profile is a quick way to get background on a company, what they do, and their current situation.
All states maintain business license records although the responsible office and type of records maintained varies. Records may include corporate filings, new business filings, issuance of trademarks and renewals of business licenses. Some states maintain these records at the state level, other do so at the county and/or city level.
PrivCo provides business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
Click on Companies on the top blue menu bar or use the Database Search box on the right to find corporate profiles and reports on U.S public companies.
Mergent Online
Mergent Online's enhanced features and functions include the ability to: research 15 years of detailed financial statements; customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need; export company reports and financials Excel; view more than 115,000 images of company annual reports.
Hoover’s sources are available in Nexis Uni:-
Hoover’s Company Records-Basic Records
Hoover’s Company Records-In-depth Records
Hoover’s Industry Snapshots
Hoover’s IPO Reports
Click Companies on the upper left green menu bar, then search for company name or ticker symbol. Results provide a profile plus options for lengthier full reports.
Directories can tell you if a company is public, private, a subsididary, or foreign-owned. They also provide contact information, names of top executives, number of employees, sales estimates, type of company, and more.
Company Histories
This is a free web source.
Here is a list of directories by the Government of Canada.
IQS Directory connects industry buyers with a network of OEM (original equipment manufacturer) manufacturing companies, suppliers, and distributors—offering the information they need make to more informed purchasing decisions.
OpenCorporates is an open database of companies and company data in the world, with in excess of 100 million companies in a similarly large number of jurisdictions. You need to sign up a free account to access full data.
Provides information on private and public companies in the U.S. Search by company, executive, or industry. Includes financial and industry details with annual reports and the Key Business Ratios database
Provides legal news, business, and cases and codes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Also includes legal research sources and business information for US and international companies.
Histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location, both public and private, U.S. and international. Access from volume 1 (1988) to v.223 (2020).
Use “Advanced Search” to customize your search options with a variety of criteria including:
Business type (in the business search); Geography (state, city, zip codes, etc.); Ownership Lifestyles (in the consumer search).
After selecting your options, select ‘Update Count’ to see your result list. You may then broaden or narrow your search. Select View Results to see the list.
Business types are selected by SIC/NAICS codes by major industry group. If you’re having trouble finding businesses using a particular code, try doing a reverse search. Search for a business that you know by name, then click into the details to see the code it is listed under. Redo your search with that code to find similar businesses.
Corporate listings for a business are available whenever you see the “Corp. Tree” icon on your result list. Click the icon to see the organizational structure and contact information.
Maximum 250 records are allowed at a time for downloading in .csv, Excel, or tab-delimited formats. Save your search by selecting Save Search on the results listing and providing it a file name. Access your saved searches from the home screen.
Includes two directories: American firms operating abroad and foreign firms with operations in the U.S.