New to Searching for Evidence? Look at Erik Fausak's Overview:
From tutorial above: RCVS Ask an Answerable Clinical Question
Need Expert Search Assistance from a Veterinary Librarian?
For expert search assistance, please the international directory of veterinary librarians to contact a veterinary librarian.
He or she can help you with a search of CAB ABSTRACTS (also called VetMed Resource) for example.
Where to Search once you've reviewed Erik's presentation to left and formulated an answerable clinical question
Erik's recommended databases 2015: Pubmed, VetSRev, VetMedResource, Google Scholar
More recommended databases: more information in the boxes below.
1. Point of care clinical information services recommended by your veterinary librarian:
- VetCompanion (Subscription fee with 60 day trial available) 281 topics point-of-care, graded for evidence, first search if small animal because it only covers small animal. If species is not small animal, and a disease,
- VetStream (Subscription Fee--30 day free trial) expert opinion, includes dogs, cats, horses, bovine, exotics + client handouts.
- VINCyclopedia (formerly Associate Book Collection) (with VIN.COM subscription) expert opinion textbook dogs, cats, exotics + client handouts and links to other VIN.com content.
- Consultant from Cornell
2. PubMed--the premier biomedical database from the National Library of Medicine, indexes around 100 veterinary journals
3. VetSRev, RCVS Knowledge Summaries (systematic reviews, and Knowledge Summaries)
4. VetMed Resource (also called CAB ABSTRACTS): comprehensive search, fee to search it yourself, or contact your veterinary librarian.
5. BestBetsforVets (U. Nottingham), and/or depending on species Consultant from Cornell (Dr. Pete White) make sure nothing on your topic before Google Scholar search -- higher levels of evidence/quality filtering
6. Google Scholar (catch-all search articles and conference proceedings and cited reference searching on articles already identified)
VIN, IVIS (for conference proceedings, some journal articles)
VetCompanion 303 + topics graded for evidence-- small animal ONLY
VetStream
VIN and IVIS
What is IVIS? - IVIS is an on-line publisher of veterinary books and proceedings. The IVIS website currently includes 1,673+ book chapters and proceeding articles.
Veterinary Information Network--about $700/year and free to students with discounts for recent grads. VIN provides other resources for a community of 45,000: message boards, consultants, a bookstore, CE, client handouts and more. A related free service from VIN Is VSPN, the Veterinary Support Personnel Network, for technicians and practice managers. See flyer below.
The flyer below describes the VIN expert opinion textbook VINCyclopedia, formerly VIN Associate.
PubMed: free to search and indexes about 100 veterinary journals
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/
PubMed is optimized for novice searchers.
Take the Tutorial: PubMed for Veterinarians from TAMU
Evidence summaries and other services
Free to access from U. Nottingham or RCVS
- VetSRev - database of systematic reviews in veterinary medicine and science
- BestBetsforVets - A BET is a simple review of the current best evidence available to answer very common and specific clinical questions. Consider writing one! Sign up here to get updates automatically!
- RCVS Knowledge Summaries - Find them in the RCVS Journal Veterinary Evidence (https://www.veterinaryevidence.org/index.php/ve)
