The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French is far more than a simple revision of the original Oxford Companion to French Literature, published in 1959, and described by The Listener as the `standard work of reference for English-speaking enquirers into French literature'. As the changein title implies, this completely new work presents an authoritative guide not only to ten centuries of literature produced in the territory now called France, but also to the rich literary output of other French-speaking countries around the world. The scope of the Companion is deliberately open and inclusive, challenging and extending the traditional canon. Literature is understood in a broad sense, ranging from strip cartoon and pamphlet to tragedy and epic, and particular attention is devoted to francophone writing from outside France.Written by an international team of specialists, entries cover individual authors and works - over 3,000 of them - from the troubadours to Cesaire, and from La Princesse de Cleves to La Vie mode d'emploi. Each is discussed in detail within their historical, cultural, and intellectual context. Among the new features of the Companion are the substantial essay-entries, reflecting up-to-date scholarship and theoretical debates on topics such as: - literary movements and genres - historical subjects such as chivalry, or Occupation and Resistance in wartime France - movements of thought from Scholasticism to feminism - linguistic topics - the sciences - the arts and media, including opera, cinema, and press As a divertissement for readers, an entry on `Quotations' lists 100 well-known quotations from the canon of French literature. Adventurous and wide-ranging, The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French will be an indispensable and hugely enjoyable reference work for all scholars, students and general readers.
Klapp bibliography of French literature covering the years 1991–2011 with annual updates The Klapp bibliography was begun by Otto Klapp in the early 1960s. It has been considered a comprehensive and authoritative review of publications on all periods of French literature from medieval through contemporary. The cumulative online compilation for the years 1991–2011 includes around 320,000 indexed article titles, 80,000 authors, and 111,000 aubject terms, generated from over 1,400 different journals, some monographs, and "omnibus" volumes.
In addition to indexes of article titles, authors, and subjects, Klapp-Online offers full text searching of the content covered from 1991 to 2011. Users can filter search results by several additional criteria. The online edition is available in three languages: German, English, and French.
Provides reviews, thematic lists, award listings, and curriculum tools for PreK - 12 books.Note: Preferred browsers are Google Chrome, Firefox or IE 8.0 or higher. Safari and mobile devices are not recommended.
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Click here to search this database with other literary databases.