It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. With a registered account you can also curate groups of images, share them, and download them directly into PowerPoint presentations.
Note: You do not need to log in to ARTStor on campus.
However, to download images you must register for an account. After you have registered for an account, you will have 120 days of remote access. After 120 days you will need to log in to ARTStor from a computer on campus--or through your library’s proxy--in order to reset your remote access for another 120 days.
Content includes: Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Grove Art Online offers over 6,000 images. Browse or search biographies, different types of art and art forms, geographical areas, categories of people (e.g., artists, collectors, patrons), styles and cultures (e.g., Cubism, Jewish, Buddhist), time periods, and themes and subjects (e.g., landscape, still life, portrait).
The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09. Please click End Session when finished searching. See also Getty Research Institute for earlier coverage