Questions?
Books on Law
Understanding Animal Law
Understanding Animal Law, by Adam P, Karp, covers a wide range of animal law issues such as dangerous dog litigation, veterinary malpractice, wildlife law and more
Imagining Legality: where law meets popular culture
A collection of essays on the relationship between law and popular culture that posits, in addition to the concepts of law in the books and law in action, a third concept of law in the image
About This Guide
Basic law and legal research may take many forms, from finding information about laws and regulations to exploring topics pertaining to disciplines or researching topics in the media. This guide highlights, some of the resources that are available to the UTK community that may help with research related to law. These include dictionaries and reference books, news sources for researching topics covered in the media, and databases that may supplement legal research databases available in the Joel A. Katz Law Library. There are also links to the data sources to supplement legal research as well as information about research methodologies and research tools to help in completing assignments and writing papers.
Librarians specializing in a variety of disciplines have created guides that may be of interest when exploring your topic.
This guide also contains links to freely available resources on the internet and in the community.
Please note that UT Libraries cannot provide legal advice. This guide is not intended to serve as a substitute for legal counsel.
UT Libraries Law Resources
Comprehensive index to the U.S. Congress. Provides full-text of congressional publications including bills, laws, hearings, and more. Also includes members and committees information.
Formerly called CQ Press Political reference suite of online editions.
Tennessee General Assembly - Search for bills and legislation in the Tennessee General Assembly
FindLaw is a free resource for researching information about a variety of legal topics, understanding state laws, and finding an attorney. The site covers how to hire an attorney by state and how to understand your state's unique laws.
Effective Rules and Regulations of the State of Tennessee - This site contains rules and Regulations of the State of Tennessee – and is inclusive of all amendments, repeals, and/or deletions.
U.S. Legislation and Regulations - A guide to public policy resources
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Max Plank Encyclopedia of Public Internatioal Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) is a comprehensive online resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. Written and edited by an incomparable team of over 800 scholars and practitioners, published in partnership with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, and updated throughout the year, this major reference work is essential for anyone researching or teaching international law.
PowerNotes is a tool to help you save, annotate, organize, and cite sources you access from databases and the Web. PowerNotes helps you take notes on and keep track of your online sources, create a research outline, avoid accidental plagiarism, and more.
Law & Legal Research by Discipline
State Law, Legislation and Regulations by Greg March - Covers law and government in Tennessee and other states
Primary Sources on Law, Crime, and Criminal Justice by Erin Whitaker - This research guide will help students find and cite primary source materials, with special attention to resources related to topics frequently covered in ENGL 102 courses.
Law & Literature by Molly Royse - This guide contains links to a variety of literature covering law, crime, and more.
Women's Studies Legal & Political Issues - This research guide identifies special collections materials related to women in East Tennessee from the late 18th century to the present.