Databases: Secondary Sources
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- MLA International Bibliography
Index of research in literature, language, and folklore. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus. Coverage from 1920 to present.
- Project Muse
Full-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Databases: Primary Source Historical Materials
- African American Communities
Primary sources related to discrimination, urban renewal, civil rights, race relations, and African American culture and identity. This resource focuses on experiences in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
- African American Newspapers. Series 1, 1827-1998
A NewsBank collection of over 200 full-text U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Primary source documents from 1490 to 2007 related to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
UT Digital Collections
- Crime Documents from the Estes Kefauver Collection This digital collection includes press releases, speeches, article drafts, and government publications penned by Estes Kefauver and colleagues on the organized crime and juvenile delinquency commissions. Subjects include the causes and prevention of organized crime, gambling, and juvenile delinquency during the 1950s and early 1960s.
- FInding Aids for Manuscript Materials in UTK's Special Collections Scholars have access to rich primary research material in the over 3000 cataloged titles in the Special Collections Manuscripts collection. This collection includes literary manuscripts, business records, political files, and private papers that relate to many topics, including Tennessee and the southeast.
- Scopes Trial Of Monkeys and Men: Public and Private Views from the Scopes Trial digital collection consists of selected documents and photographs from the Sue K. Hicks Papers and the W.C. Robinson Collection of Scopes Trial Photographs. Sue K. Hicks, a Dayton lawyer, was a member of the Scopes prosecution team. The digital collection includes letters, notes, and other documents assembled by Hicks during the trial.
Databases: Law Resources
- Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790–1920Primary source collection of documents on the evolution of crime and punishment. The archive's focus is on the nineteenth century- the most rapid period of evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems.
- HeinOnlineCollection of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal TreatisesProvides digital images of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926.
- Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and BriefsContains briefs and other legal documents that provide background and context of cases presented to the court. Coverage from 1832 to 1978.
- Nexis Uni
Provides legal news, business, and cases and codes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Also includes legal research sources and business information for US and international companies.
- ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive index to the U.S. Congress. Provides full-text of congressional publications including bills, laws, hearings, and more. Also includes members and committees information.
UT Special Collections: Rare Books & Archives
Diary of a Sit-In by
In early 1960 Merrill Proudfoot was a white Presbyterian clergyman on the faculty of the predominantly black Knoxville College. He agreed to join the students in staging sit-in protests if they first tried to negotiate the integration of downtown Knoxville's lunch counters and those negotiations failed. After the negotiations collapsed, Proudfoot fulfilled his part of the bargain, at first reluctantly but later with enthusiasm, and emerged as a prominent figure in the movement.
Call Number: Rare Books F444.K7 P95 1990
A Godsend to His People: The Essential Writings and Speeches of Marshall Keeble by
Marshall Keeble (1878-1968) stands as one of the Church of Christ's most influential and celebrated African American evangelists. His impact was felt throughout the South and well beyond as he helped establish over two hundred churches and baptized approximately forty thousand individuals during his nearly seventy years of ministry.
Call Number: Univ. Archives BX7077.Z6 K44 2008- I Am a Man: Photographs of the 1968 Memphis Sanitation Strike and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. byCall Number: Rare Books HD5325.S2572 1968 .M46 1993
- Sing for Freedom: The Story of the Civil Rights Movement Through its Songs byCall Number: Rare Books M1977.C47 S56 1990
Speak Now Against the Day: The Generation Before the Civil Rights Movement in the South by Call Number: Rare Books E185.61.E28 1995b- The Wall Between byCall Number: Rare Books F459.L8B7 1959
- White and Black Inequality in Urban Appalachia: The Case of Knoxville, Tennessee. byCall Number: Rare Books E185.615.S715
UT Special Collections: Rare Books & Theses -- Reconstruction Era & Gilded Age
|
|
|
Portrait by Browder Studios. Photograph from Volunteer Voices Digital Collection, provided by the Beck Cultural Exchange Center. |
Rare Books
Catalogue of Swift Memorial Institute. circa 1880s (LC2852.R63 S92)
Annual Report of the Slater Training School. 1886 (LC2761 .A935)
Sparkling Gems of Race Knowledge Worth Reading. A Compendium of Valuable Information and Wise Suggestions that Will Inspire Noble Effort at the Hands of Every Race-loving Man, Woman, and Child. 1897 (E185.5 .H16)
An Appeal for Social Purity in Negro Homes, a Tract. 1898 (E185.86 .H37 1898)
Historical Sketch of the Freemen's Missions of the United Presbyterian Church, 1862-1904. 1904 (E185.2 .U5)
Theses
The Negro in Tennessee during the Reconstruction period. 1933 (Thesis.W181)
Some Social and Economic Phases of Reconstruction in East Tennessee, 1864-1869. 1946 (Thesis46.C18)
Black Children and Northern Missionaries, Freemen's Bureau Agents, and Southern Whites in Reconstruction Tennessee, 1865-1869. 2005 (Thesis 2005b .K43)
Rebuilding a Community: Prosperity and Peace in Post-Civil War Knoxville, Tennessee, 1865-1870. 2008 (Thesis 2008 .H53)
To Be True to Ourselves: Freedpeople, School Building, and Community Politics in Appalachian Tennessee, 1865-1870. 2009 (Electronic Thesis/Dissertation)
UT Special Collections: Manuscript Resources -- Civil Rights
Civil Rights Collection, 1934-1970 (MS.0334)
This collection brings together papers and publications from individuals and organizations as well as over fifty hours of taped interviews with civil rights participants. Individuals include Charles Haynie, Buford Posey, Sidney Redmond, Walter and Elizabeth Rogers, and Claude Williams among others. Organizations include ACLU, CORE, SCEF, SRC, and several others. The collection includes a wealth of pamphlets, organized by topic, and newsletters, organized by title. Documents from several court cases can be found in Sidney Redmond's papers and Claude Williams' papers as well as in the Legal Papers folders. Of particular interest may be the manuscripts and accompanying papers for Dorothy Swisshelm's book, Six years Behind the Magnolia Curtain.
Byron de la Beckwith Correspondence, Photographs, and Other Materials, 1940-1992 (MS.3439)
This collection consists primarily of letters that Byron de le Beckwith wrote to his wife, Mary Louise (Williams) Beckwith; his son, Byron de la Beckwith, Jr.; and his brother and sister-in-law, Jesse and Frances Williams while he was incarcerated before and during his first trial for the murder of NAACP leader Medgar Evers. Another set of correspondence was written between Beckwith and his nephew, B. Reed Massengill, while Massengill was working on a book chronicling Beckwith's life. Also included are photographs (some of which were published in Massengill's Portrait of a Racist) showing Beckwith and his family.
June N. Adamson Papers, bulk 1943-2003 (MS.2739)
Correspondence, research and teaching files, student work, articles, newspaper clippings, notes, and manuscripts documenting June N. Adamson's life and work as a newspaper reporter, student, and University of Tennessee Professor of Journalism. Included is research related to Adamson's book, The Lit Stick of Dynamite, which document the desegregation of Clinton High School in 1956 and its bombing in 1958.
Carl and Anne Braden Papers, 1947-1967 (MS.0425)
This collection of approximately 4,700 items documents the work of Carl and Anne Braden, civil rights workers with the Southern Conference Education Fund (SCEF). The material covers their work in the civil rights program throughout America from 1947 to 1967.
James Earl Ray Papers, 1968-1998 (MS.3147)
This collection houses letters, news clippings, official papers, and other items documenting James Earl Ray's life between the Martin Luther King, Jr. assassination in 1968 and Ray's death in 1998. They concern his attempts to prove his innocence as well as his life in prison.
Alex Haley Research Regarding Tennessee Anecdotal History, circa 1986-circa 1996 (AR.0420)
Alex Haley, Anne, Klebenow, and a number of student researchers collected these anecdotes about Tennessee history during their work on 200 Years through 200 Stories: A Tennessee Bicentennial Collection (1996). Among the topics covered are the Bell Witch, the beginning of the Ku Klux Klan, the Scopes Trial, and the Civil War.
Tips From Your Librarian
Make sure that you are signed in to One Search to get full results from your searches: https://www.lib.utk.edu/access/accounts/
If you are trying to access an e-book in One Search, but the item is "in use," simply wait for a few minutes and try again.
Sign up for Resource Sharing services to easily borrow materials from other libraries: https://www.lib.utk.edu/request/
Anyone in the UTK community can "request a purchase": https://www.lib.utk.edu/collections/suggest-a-purchase/
To get the most out of Google Scholar, authenticate via the UTK Libraries' link: https://libguides.utk.edu/databases/490
For information on citing your sources: https://libguides.utk.edu/style/
Contact the Writing Center to get help with and improve your written work from the brainstorming stage to final revisions: https:///writingcenter. utk.edu/
The Studio is a great resource for multimedia projects: https://www.lib.utk.edu/studio/
