Veterinary Databases and LibKey Nomad for getting PDFs
Request Materials
- Scan-on-demand and Hold for PickupYou can request scans of articles in print journals in OneSearch and book chapters. You can also have books held for you at the Pendergrass Library or other branches.
- Suggest a purchaseIf you think a book should be bought for Pendergrass Library, fill out this form.
Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Services)
Obtain articles and other items from other libraries by filling out a request after registering for ILLIA.D. Free service to UT students, faculty, and staff. Check to see that journals or books are not in OneSearch before submitting the request so that it won't be returned.
Office of Information Technology Research Computing Support
OIT offers a variety of research support services including statistical consulting to UT students, faculty, and staff.
Overview of Searching the Biomedical Literature
Steps of the Research Process
- Learn about background information on a topic : Use factual information in medical dictionaries or authoritative veterinary websites
- Read summaries of information on the topic : Use review articles, book chapters, conference papers, abstracts
- Read scientific articles : Search scientific databases to find specific scholarly papers
Comparing Databases
Grindlay, Brennan, and Dean (2012) compared the coverage of 1,139 veterinary journals by nine bibliographic databases.
- CAB Abstracts: 90.2%
- Web of Science, Zoological Record & Biosis Previews: 66.8%
- Scopus: 58.3&
- Science Citation Index Expanded: 53.3%
- Web of Science (includes Science Citation Index Expanded): 53.3%
- Biosis Previews: 47.6%
- Embase: 38.9%
- MEDLINE: 36.5%
- Zoological Record: 34.1%
- Current Contents-Agriculture, Biology and Environmental Sciences: 27.6%
Grindlay DJ, Brennan ML, Dean RS. Searching the veterinary literature: a comparison of the coverage of veterinary journals by nine bibliographic databases. J Vet Med Educ. 2012 Winter;39(4):404-12. doi: 10.3138/jvme.1111.109R. PubMed PMID: 23187034.
Cited Reference Searching with Google Scholar--USE ON CAMPUS or with VPN (Virtual Private Network from OIT)
Search for Cited References in Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com) on campus or using the Office of Information Technology Virtual Private Network
- In Google Scholar type article title in search box
- Click on Cited by to display articles, reports, blog posts, presentations, etc. found by Google Scholar algorithm.
- Click on Web of Science to display articles in Web of Science. Not all articles in Google Scholar will have links to Web of Science.
- More information on Web of Science Searching is available at https://clarivate.libguides.com/woscc/citedreference
Data vizualization, data management, data services, data sets and GIS plus more from the UT Libraries Scholars Collaborative
- PLoS Data Sharing SurveyRecent example of growing interest in all things data, including data sharing
- " The Push to Replace Journal Supplements with Repositories" 2019 The Scientist"Depositing material that would end up in supplementary files in places other than the journal is becoming an increasingly common practice."
Research Communication Tips and Resources
Optimizing Powerpoint
Assertion-Evidence approach by Michael Alley
Web Site with templates based on the book by Michael Alley below
ORCID, Open Researcher and Contributor Id
Follow Dr. Kania's example: Register for and keep your ORCID page up to date
"ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports"
University College London Blog post "Getting the most out of your ORCID" May 2020
ORCID Is an international researcher-focused effort. Register for your ORCID this summer and join the 8 million researchers with an ORCID.
Conference Abstracts
How to Write a Killer Conference Abstract: The first step towards an engaging presentation
Jan 2017 Helen Kara / London School of Economics Blog
Drawing Figures with ChemBioDrawChembioDraw
Software to help you draw your own illustration, if needed. Licensed to UTK by OIT.
Look under Cambridgesoft on the OIT Software Distribution Server for ChembioDraw.
Manuscript Matcher
http://jane.biosemantics.org/
"Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!
Just enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on 'Find journals', 'Find authors' or 'Find Articles'. Jane will then compare your document to millions of documents in PubMed to find the best matching journals, authors or articles."
Just enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on 'Find journals', 'Find authors' or 'Find Articles'. Jane will then compare your document to millions of documents in PubMed to find the best matching journals, authors or articles."
LinkedIn Learning
Linked in Learning
Instructional videos subscribed by UTK Office of Information Technology.
Online Meeting Tips
Online Meetings with Zoom or MS Teams
"Make sure when you run a meeting with colleagues or students you are efficient and respectful of everyone’s time. "
Books: planning research, ethics, and writing
Basic Steps in Planning Nursing Research: from question to proposal by ebook and paper
"...is the perfect introduction to the research process. It details the development of an effective research plan, and guides readers through all stages of the process from finding a research topic, to the final written proposal. It takes an in-depth focus on the planning process which makes it an excellent tool for beginners while still being relevant to people at all levels of study who need to develop a research plan.The Seventh Edition continues to teach readers how to prepare an appropriate question and topic and the steps it takes formulate a conclusion. All of the chapters have been updated with new references and current information including a renewed focus on evidence-based practice and an expansion of research ethics. Proposals are included at the end of the text to help students learn."
Research Ethics for Scientists: a companion for students by E-book and Paper
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Paper only--ebook not available to libraries
Role Models in Veterinary Research and Publishing
Selected Summer Research Experience Participants' articles:
- PeerJ article: "Effects of various factors on Doppler flow ultrasonic radial and coccygeal artery systolic blood pressure measurements in privately-owned, conscious dogs" from COE 2016 work by Allison Mooney Class of 2018Mooney AP, Mawby DI, Price JM, Whittemore JC. Effects of various factors on
Doppler flow ultrasonic radial and coccygeal artery systolic blood pressure
measurements in privately-owned, conscious dogs. PeerJ. 2017 Mar 22;5:e3101. doi:
10.7717/peerj.3101. eCollection 2017. - PeerJ article: "The effectiveness of cooling conditions on temperature of canine EDTA whole blood samples" from COE 2016 from work done by Leslie Serrano, Class of 2019Tobias KM, Serrano L, Sun X, Flatland B. The effectiveness of cooling
conditions on temperature of canine EDTA whole blood samples. PeerJ. 2016 Nov
29;4:e2732.
- Humphreys AF, Tan J, Peng R, Benton SM, Qin X, Worley KC, et al. (2015) Generation and Characterization of Antibodies against Asian Elephant (Elephas maximus) IgG, IgM, and IgA. Article in PLoSOne by Alan Humphreys, class of 2012.