Skip to main content

Business: Bibilometrics Analysis (who cited my article): Getting Started

Resources for identifying who cited works of an author.

Getting Started

 

Who Cited My Article?

The following are suggested databases contain references cited by authors. With the following as tools, you can conduct a search to find articles that cite a particular published work of yours.

 

 Academic Journal Search Tool

Cabell'sScholarly Analytics contains information designed to help researchers and academics match their manuscripts with the scholarly journals which are most likely to publish those manuscripts. The Directories index journals according to twenty-four (+/-) different topic areas and provide publication information and review process such as Acceptance Rate, Type of Review.

Eigenfactor  to find out article influence.

Elsevier Journal Finder helps you find journals that could be best suited for publishing your manuscripts. 

InCites Journal Citation Reports is within Web of Science.  It offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.

SJR is a free tool allowing academics to search for information on thousands of academic journals and  to find a suitable journal to submit your research to. The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). Academics can search by keyword or category and refine their search by impact factor to help direct them to the leading journals in their respective fields, as well as descriptions and direct links to the websites of these journals. 

Ulrichsweb is the source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.  [UTK Library System has this database].

Scopus Journal Analyzer to compare journal titles.  The metrics provide alternative, transparent and accurate views of the citation impact a journal makes. The impact metrics are based on methodologies developed by external bibliometricians and use Scopus as the data source. Scopus is a citation database of peer-reviewed literature and features tools to track, analyze and visualize research output.

Citation Analysis Databases

Web of Science  (Social Science Citation Index 1956-, Science Citation Index 1900- and Humanities Citation Index 1975-)

Web of Science and Journal Citation Reports within Web of Knowledge are multidisciplinary databases with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, covering approximately 2,000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts, with all cited references captured.

Click on "Cited Reference Search" under the "Web of Science" tab.
Enter Author Name, Journal Title (using the Journal Abbreviation List), or any other search terms you have.
Under Current Limits, put a check mark next to Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) for articles or Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities for journals. Remove check marks from all other boxes.
After you have your results, note the "Times Cited" field. This number represents how many times your work has been cited in Web of Knowledge.

(check out other features from U of Michigan https://guides.lib.umich.edu/citation/WebofScience)

Scopus 1966-

Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers, providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005.

Dimensions 

Dimensions is a linked research knowledge system that re-imagines discovery and access to research. Developed by Digital Science in collaboration with over 100 leading research organizations around the world, Dimensions brings together grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents and policy documents to deliver a platform that enables users to find and access the most relevant information faster, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy. 

Additional Sources of Citations

Business Source Complete

To search, enter author name, article title, or any other search terms you have.  Find your article in the results list.  Note the number next to "Times Cited in This Database".  This number shows how many times your work has been cited in Business Source Complete.  Be aware that "Cited References" is a complete different thing.  It indicates how many references being cited in this article.

 

ResearcherID with Thomas Reuters

ResearcherID provides a solution to the author ambiguity problem within the scholarly research community. Each member is assigned a unique identifier to enable researchers to manage their publication lists, track their times cited counts and h-index, identify potential collaborators and avoid author misidentification. In addition, your ResearcherID information integrates with the Web of Knowledge and is ORCID compliant, allowing you to claim and showcase your publications from a single one account. Search the registry to find collaborators, review publication lists and explore how research is used around the world!

CiteseerX (Scientific Literature Digital Library and Search Engine)

It searches over 1,164,939 articles and 22,168,862 citations, mainly information Management and Statistics areas.

Google Scholar

After you conduct a search, the result of books or articles show the number of times they have been cited. If you click on the number next to "Cited by".  This represents how many times your work has been cited in Google Scholar.

Publish or Perish

Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain raw citations, then analyzes them.   Please see the Caveat Emptor on using it. 

Guides from Other Universities

Associate Professor / Librarian for Haslam Business College, Advertising School, RTHM School and Executive MBA Programs

P. Judy Li, PhD's picture
P. Judy Li, PhD
Contact:
Email: judyli@utk.edu
Judy's academic credentials (all from North America universities): PhD, MLIS, MBA (Entrep.), BA(Business Adm.).
Previously worked as a librarian at: research centers (county public library's Business/Law/Gov subject section, academic libraries' Business section, special libraries with companies in Telecommunication Industry and Finance Industry) - USA, Canada, HongKong (pre-1997 - British National Oversea)
865-974-0013
Subjects:Business

Online Chat for Assistance