Research Guides: Advertising &amp; Public Relations: Consumer and Market Research

Consumer & Market Research

Consumer Expenditure Survey
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, two surveys: the quarterly Interview Survey & the Diary Survey. Both provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families & single consumers) characteristics.

Catalyst (MRI-Simmons)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. consumer statistics on product usage, spending behavior, and media habits that can be used to create customized reports. The data is generated from the Simmons National Consumer Study (NCS), which samples the U.S. population several times a year.

Online Access - 11 concurrent users. Please log-off when leaving site.
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Catalyst. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Index of tables and full-text reports to statistical data produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

Insider Intelligence
Market research data and reports from eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence offering insights and trends related to digital marketing, media, and commerce.
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Insider Intelligence. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Mintel Academic. Mintel Reports
Offers category specific market research for USA Reports. Each report includes trends, consumer profiles, and interactive databooks.
Passport
Provides business-related statistics, and market research reports on thousands of product categories and industries. Includes consumers and markets, with extended data with analysis and visualization tools.
Allow pop-ups and Active-X for this database. Formerly called Passport GMID.
Statista
Statistics, reports, and market outlooks to analyze consumer data and related markets.

Note that the Libraries no longer maintains a subscription to Statista, but a free version can be accessed by creating an account.
Winmo
Provides competitive intelligence on media companies, ad agencies, and more.

Now includes the new social media spend module that provides a window to digital ad buying behavior and impression data for Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, and YouTube.

Social Explorer
Current and historical census data and demographic information. Users can create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

Online Access - 5 simultaneous users