SuDocs Classification
Superintendent of Documents classification (SuDocs) numbers are assigned by the U.S. Government Printing Office to all official government publications. This system arranges materials by issuing agency, not by subject.
Below is a brief outline of the SuDocs system. Click here for a detailed explanation.
A Agriculture
AE National Archives
C Commerce
C 3 Census Bureau
CR Civil Rights Commission
CS Civil Service Commission
D Defense
E Energy
ED Education
EP Environmental Protection
FR Federal Reserve
FT Federal Trade Comm.
FTZ Federal Trade Zone Board
GA Government Accountability
Office
GP Government Printing Office
GS General Services
HE Health and Human Services
HH Housing and Urban
Development
I Interior
I 19 U.S. Geological Survey
IC Interstate Commerce Comm.
J Justice
Ju Judiciary
L Labor
LC Library of Congress
LR National Labor Relations Bd.
NA National Academy of
Sciences
NAS National Aeronautics &
Space Adm.
NS National Science Foundation
P United States Postal Service
PE Peace Corps
Pr President of United States
PrEx Executive Office of the
President
S State Department
SBA Small Business
Administration
SE Securities and Exchange
Commission
SI Smithsonian Institution
T Treasury Department
T 22 Internal Revenue Service
TD Transportation Department
VA Veterans Administration
X & Y Congress
X Congressional Record
House & Senate Journals
Y 1 Congressional Reports and
Documents
Y 4 Congressional Hearings
Federal Depository Library Program
The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to government information created at taxpayers' expense.The authority for the FDLP is found in 44 United States Code §§1901‐1616.
UT Libraries was designated a land-grant selective depository library for U.S. Government Documents publications in 1907.The current selection rate is approximately 30 percent of the publications in the List of Classes that are made available to participating depository libraries. UT selections are primarily digital format.
Other Knoxville depositories are:
The regional depository library for the state of Tennessee is located at the The University of Memphis.
Finding U.S.documents in UT Libraries
The UT Libraries' Online Catalog is the place to begin a search for government publications held by or made accessible by the library. As with other library materials, the catalog shows specific formats and locations for government publications. Search by title, author, subject. SuDocs classification searching is available in the Classic Catalog using the Browse search (pull down menu) for govdoc number search.
See the Government Documents page at: http://www.lib.utk.edu/govdoc/
Print and cd/dvd, government documents shelved by SuDocs number are located in the Storage collection in the Hoskins Library. These materials may be borrowed for regular loan periods. Some Pre-1976 government documents held in the Libraries' collection may not accessible in the online catalog. The shelf list card file in Research Services, is used to verify holdings for uncataloged documents held in Hoskins Storage. It may also be necessary to check print indexes or databases to locate the correct citation in order to find documents published before July 1976.
Microfiche, and pamphlets (20 pages or under) shelved by SuDocs number - are located in Hoskins Library, Storage, Reading room area.
Print documents with Library of Congress classification are located in the Hodges Library general collection on the stacks floors, in Reference, or in Hoskins Library Storage.
Department of Agriculture publications (except for Food & Nutrition Service publications) are located in the Agriculture-Veterinary Medicine Library.
Maps/cartographic materials are located in Map Services.
Librarians are available at the Research Services desk in the Commons to assist with identifying government materials in collections at all locations. Use AskUsNow for telephone, chat, or email assistance.
Collection Tools
The List of Classes
A list of publications available for selection by depository libraries participating in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). The list is arranged by the Superintendent of Documents classification numbering system and is designed to group together publications by the same government author. Libraries use the List of Classes to work with and identify item numbers that they may want to select or deselect from their item selection profile.
Item Lister
Find a list of item numbers selected by the UT Libraries (enter depository number 0577)
Suggested Core Collections by Library Type
FDLP Digital Depository

GovernmentBook Talk
This GPO Blog reviews new and popular publications, and spotlights out-of-print classics.
Answers.USA.gov - Answers to popular government information questions.
Browse Topics: Your Pathway to Government Information


Loading...
