Quick Links
UT Geography Department
Geography Databases
Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online 
A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.
Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970
Digitized versions of Sanborn fire insurance maps for cities and towns in Tennessee.
GeoRef 1669+
Indexes geology and earth science research publications.
SimplyMap
SimplyMap is a database with web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Use the Guest Login if you do not have an account. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Users can create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. For information about the new beta-site, go to http://www.socialexplorer.com/pub/blog/?p=2317.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users. When you are finished please click Sign-Out.
Web of Science 1900+
Citation index for sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Book Citation Index. Journals indexed in Web of Science.
Video Tutorials>> Quick Reference Card>>
also see:
National Geographic Magazine Archive 1888-present
A complete archive from 1888 to the present that includes every page and every photograph. Click End Session when finished.
Population Index 1986-2000 
Primary index to the world's population and demography literature, covering books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials.
Sustainability Science Abstracts 1985+
Explores sustainable development, population and demography, and societal issues involving natural resource management.