Skip to Main Content

World Music, Folk Music, and Ethnomusicology: Print Resources

Resources for research on world music, folk or vernacular music, and ethnomusicology.

Browse the Stacks!

Use call number ranges to browse the physical collection:

M1627 Songs, international
M1629 Songs, United States
M1630.18 Popular music
M1685-M1853 National music (vocal) by country
ML3544-ML3785 National music, history and criticism by country
ML3797 Music research: Ethnomusicology
ML3798-ML3799 Ethnomusicology

Subject Headings

Use Subject Headings to help you locate items in the online catalog:

BALLADS
BLUEGRASS MUSIC
CAROLS
ETHNOMUSICOLOGY
FOLK DANCE MUSIC
FOLK DANCING
FOLK MUSIC
FOLK SONGS
POPULAR MUSIC
NATIONAL SONGS
WORK SONGS
WORLD MUSIC

Select Print Resources

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Stacks:

Armenian Sacred and Folk Music by Komitas, V.
Call Number: ML3758.A754 K65 1998
Bela Bartók studies in ethnomusicology by Suchoff, Benjamin
Call Number: ML3580 .B37 1997
Cantometrics: A Method in Musical Anthropology by Lomax, A.
Call Number: ML3797 .L63 C3 1976
Corridos in migrant memory by Sánchez, Martha I. Chew
Call Number: ML3570 .C52 2006
The Cultural Study of Music: A Critical Introduction by Clayton, M.
Call Number: ML3845 .C85 2003
The English and Scottish Popular Ballads by Child, F.
Call Number: PR1181 .C5 2001
The Ethnomusicologist by Hood, M.
Call Number: ML3797 .H66 1982
Excursions in World Music by Nettl, B.
Call Number: MT90 .E95 2004
Folklife Sourcebook: A Directory of Folklife Resources in the United States by Bartis, P.
Call Number: GR37 .B37 1994
The Garland Library of Readings in Ethnomusicology: A Core Collection of Important Ethnomusicological Articles by Shelemay, K.
Call Number: ML3799 .G37 1990
A History of European Folk Music by Ling, J.
Call Number: ML3580 .L5613 1997
In the Course of Performance: Studies in the World Musical Improvisation by Nettl, B.; Russel, M.
Call Number: ML430.7 .I47 1998
Introducing American Folk Music: Ethnic and Grassroot Traditions in the United States by Lornell, K.
Call Number: ML3551.L67 2002
Jamaican Folk Music: A Synthesis of Many Cultures by Rouse, M.
Call Number: ML3565 .R68 2000
Music, Culture, and Experience: Selected Papers of John Blacking by Blacking, J.
Call Number: ML60 .B63 1995
Musical Instruments: A Worldwide Survey of Traditional Music-making by Rault, L.
Call Number: ML3799 .R38 2000
Music as Culture by Herndon, M.
Call Number: ML3798 .H46 1981
Music in Human Life: Anthropological Perspectives on Music by Kaemmer, J.
Call Number: ML3798 .K33 1993
Performance Practice: Ethnomusicological Perspectives by Béhague, G.
Call Number: ML3799 .P47 1984
Popular music in Mexico by Geijerstam, Claes af
Call Number: ML3570 .G44
Postmodernism and Globalization in Ethnomusicology: An Epistemological Problem by Nercessian, A.
Call Number: ML3798 .N46 2002
Russian Folk Songs: Musical Genres and History by Prokhorov, V.
Call Number: ML3680 .P79 2002
Selected Reports in Ethnomusicology by University of California, Los Angeles. Dept. of Music; University of California, Los Angeles. Institute of Ethnomusicology.
Call Number: ML3797.1.C34 S4
Shadows in the Field: New Perspectives for Fieldwork in Ethnomusicology by Barz, G.
Call Number: ML3799 .S5 2008
Songs of the Minotaur: Hybridity and Popular Music in the Era of Globalization by Steingress, G.
Call Number: ML3470 .S58 2002
The Study of Ethnomusicology by Nettl, B.
Call Number: ML3798 .N47 2005
The Traditional Tunes of Child Ballads; with their Texts, according to the Extant Records of Great Britain and America by Bronson, B.
Call Number: ML3650 .B82
World Musics in Education by Floyd, M.
Call Number: MT1 .W93 1996
Worlds of Music: An Introduction to the Music of the World's Peoples by Titon, J.
Call Number: ML3545 .W67 1996

Reference Books

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Reference Section:

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts
Call Number: ML13.M83
(Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.)

Bibliographies

Sources of Irish Traditional Music by Fleishmann, A.
Call Number: Ref ML128.F74 F54 1997
North American Indian music : A Guide to Published Sources and Selected Recordings by Keeling, R.
Call Number: Ref ML128.F75 K44 1997
Folk Music in America : A Reference Guide by Miller, T.
Call Number: Ref ML128.F74 M5 1986
Folk Song Index: A Comprehensive Guide to the Florence E. Brunnings Collection by Brunnings, F.
Call Number: Ref ML128.F75 B83
Reference materials in ethnomusicology; a bibliographic essay on primitive, oriental, and folk music by Nettl, Bruno
Call Number: ML111 .D48 no.1-8
Ethnomusicology research : a select annotated bibliography by Schuursma, Ann Briegleb
Call Number: ML128.E8 S4 1992
Popular Music Studies: A Select International Bibliography by Shepherd, J.
Call Number: Ref ML128.P63 P67 1997

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Stone, R.
Call Number: Ref ML100 .G16 1998
The Oxford Companion to Australian Music by Bebbington, W.
Call Number: Ref ML101.A9 O94 1997
Enciclopedia da Musica Brasileira by Marcondes, M.
Call Number: Ref ML101.B7 E53 2000 )
Diccionario de la Musica Espanola e Hispanoamericana by Casares, E.
Call Number: Ref ML101.S7 D53 1999
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by Shepherd, J.
Call Number: Ref ML102.P66 C66 2003
World Music: The Rough Guide by Broughton, S.
Call Number: Ref ML102.W67 W67 1994
American Musical Traditions by Titon, J.
Call Number: Ref ML3551 .A53 2002
Asian Music by Society for Asian Music
Call Number: ML1 .A86
Canadian Folk Music Bulletin by Canadian Folk Music Society
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Canadian Journal for Traditional Music by Canadian Society for Traditional Music
Call Number: ML5 .C148
Ethnomusicology by Society for Ethnomusicology
Call Number: ML1 .E77
Society for Ethnomusicology Newsletter by Society for Ethnomusicology
Call Number: ML27.U5 S6
World of Music by International Institute for Comparative Music Studies and Documentation; International Music Council.
Call Number: Electronic Resource
The encyclopedia of native music : more than a century of recordings from wax cylinder to the Internet by Wright-McLeod, Brian
Call Number: ML156.4.I5 W75 2005
Encyclopedia of world pop music, 1980-2001 by Jeffries, Stan
Call Number: ML102 .P66 J44 2003
Caribbean popular music : an encyclopedia of reggae, mento, ska, rock steady, and dancehall by Moskowitz, David
Call Number: ML102.P66 M67 2006

Discographies

Early field recordings : a catalogue of cylinder collections by Indiana University. Archives of Traditional Music
Call Number: ML156.2 .I54 1987
Native North American music and oral data : a catalog of sound recordings, 1893-1976 by Sara Lee, Dorothy
Call Number: ML156.2 .I55
Irish classical recordings : a discography of Irish art music by Klein, Axel
Call Number: ML156.2 .K54 2001