This guide provides a list of key databases for the subject along with links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs. Call number ranges and subject headings for finding books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings in the Music Library are also included.
Career information can be found in the Resources for Careers in Music subject guide.
Many of the resources in this guide may also be accessed through the UT George F. DeVine Music Library homepage.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Revised July 2017, Chris Durman
DeVine Music Library Coordinator
Natalie L. Haslam Music Center, G-04
1741 Volunteer Blvd., 37996-2600
Key Databases
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent places to begin your research:
- Oxford Music OnlinePart of Oxford Music Online
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
An encyclopedia about music all over the world.
Search for journal articles on your topic in the following databases:
- Music Periodicals Database
Supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals. Coverage from 1874 to current.
- Music Index
Indexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music. Coverage from 1970 to present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Bibliography on writings about music with some full-text articles. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and more. Coverage from the early 19th century to present.
Listen to music from around the world in these databases:
- Music & Performing Arts
An audio and video collection for classical, opera, jazz, world, popular music, and American music. Also includes theatre, dance, and film resources.
- Naxos Music Library
A streaming audio database featuring a comprehensive collection of classical music. Search by composer, artist, label, and more. Includes guides on musical eras and other topical resources.
Locate songs in Music Library songbooks by searching in this database:
Suggested Links
- RootsWorldRootsWorld is a magazine that focuses on the music of the world and the roots of the global musical milieu that has come to be known as world music.
- Sing Out!Sing Out!'s mission is to preserve and support the cultural diversity and heritage of all traditional and contemporary folk musics, and to encourage making folk music a part of our everyday lives.
- World Music CentralWorld Music Central is an online magazine dedicated to World Music featuring the latest international news, CD and concert reviews, articles, and many resources (in the form of a wiki) for music fans, industry professionals and researchers.
- Cuarteto Latinoamericano Virtual LibraryLatin American works for string quartet, in PDF format. In the cases of those composers or publishers who have not relinquished their rights to free download, links are included for the purchase of materials.