Skip to Main Content

Music in the United States: Print Resources

Resources for research on Music in the United States.

Browse the Stacks!

Use call number ranges to browse the physical collection:

ML1 United States periodicals
ML13-18 United States directories
ML106.U3-U4 United States bio-bibliographies
ML120.U United States bibliographies
ML198 General history and criticism of American music
ML200 United States music history
ML3551-3561 National U. S. music
MT4 History and criticism of musical instruments and study in the U. S.

Subject Headings

Use Subject Headings to help you locate items in the online catalog:

General

ML1 United States periodicals
ML13-18 United States directories
ML106.U3-U4 United States bio-bibliographies
ML120.U United States bibliographies
ML198 General history and criticism of American music
ML200 United States music history
ML3551-3561 National U. S. music
MT4 History and criticism of musical instruments and study in the U. S.

Ethnic

AFRICAN AMERICAN MUSICIANS
AFRICAN AMERICANS–MUSIC
INDIANS OF NORTH AMERICA–MUSIC
MUSICIANS, BLACK

Regional

APPALACHIAN REGION
CAJUN MUSIC
DIXIELAND MUSIC
FOLK MUSIC–[By state]
FOLK MUSIC–APPALACHIAN REGION, SOUTHERN
FOLK SONGS, ENGLISH–[By state]
FOLK SONGS, ENGLISH–SOUTHERN STATES
IRISH AMERICANS–MUSIC –HISTORY AND CRITICISM
MUSICIANS, CAJUN
ZYDECO MUSIC

Topical

BLUEGRASS MUSIC
BLUES (MUSIC)
COUNTRY MUSIC
COWBOYS–SONGS AND MUSIC
JAZZ
JAZZ MUSICIANS
MUSICALS
POPULAR MUSIC
ROCK MUSIC
ROCK MUSICIANS
SOUL MUSIC

Select Print Resources

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Stacks:

History and Criticism

Women Performing Music: The Emergence of American Women as Classical Instrumentalists and Conductors by Macleod, B.
Call Number: ML82.M24 2001
Music Melting Round: A History of Music in the United States by Borroff, E.
Call Number: ML200 .B67 2003
Music in the United States by Hitchcock, H.
Call Number: ML200.H58 2000
American Music: A Panorama by Kingman, D.
Call Number: ML200.K55 1998
American Popular Music Business in the 20th Century by Sanjek, R.
Call Number: ML200.S263 1991
To Stretch Our Ears: A Documentary History of America’s Music by Alexander, J.
Call Number: ML200.T67 2002
A History of Musical Americanism by Zuck, B.
Call Number: ML200.Z8
Modern American Music: From Charles Ives to the Minimalists by Karolyi, O.
Call Number: ML200.5.K37 1996
The Latin Tinge: The Impact of Latin American Music on the United States by Roberts, J. S.
Call Number: ML3477 .R63 1999
American Composers and Their Public: A Critical Look by Tawa, N.
Call Number: ML3795.T25 1995
A History of American Music Education by Mark, M.
Call Number: MT3.U5 M325 1999

Reference Books

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Reference Section:

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts
Call Number: Ref. ML13.M83
(Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.)

Bibliographies

Music in Early America by Hixon, D.
Call Number: Ref ML120.U5 H6
Choral Music in Nineteenth-Century America: A Guide to the Sources by Orr, N.
Call Number: Ref ML128.C48 O77 1999
Musical Settings of American Poetry by Hovland, M.
Call Number: Ref ML128.V7 H67 1986
Women in American Music: A Bibliography of Music and Literature by Block & Neuls-Bates
Call Number: Ref ML128.W7 B6
Suffragist Sheet Music by Crew, D.
Call Number: Ref ML128.W7 C74 2002
Country Music Sources: A Biblio-Discography of Commercially Recorded Traditional Music by Meade, G.
Call Number: Ref ML156.4.F5 M43 2002

Biographical Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Recorded Sound in the United States by Marco, G.
Call Number: Ref ML102.S67 E5 2005 v. 1-2
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Black Music by Clifford, M.
Call Number: Ref ML105 .I39 1982
Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians by Southern, E.
Call Number: Ref ML105.S67
Brainard’s Biographies of American Musicians by Bromberger, E.
Call Number: Ref ML106.U3 B73 1999
Dictionary of American Classical Composers by Butterworth, N.
Call Number: Ref ML106.U3 B87 2005
American Women Songwriters by Grattan, V.
Call Number: Ref ML106.U3 G73 1993
The Unsung Songwriters: America’s Masters of Melody by Vaché, W.
Call Number: Ref ML106.U3 V114 2000

Discographies

Film Composers in America: A Filmography by McCarty, C.
Call Number: Ref ML128.M7 M3 2000
Show Tunes: The Songs, Shows, and Careers of Broadway’s Major Composers by Suskin, S.
Call Number: Ref ML128.M78 S86 2000
Early Broadway Sheet Music: A Comprehensive Listing of Published Music from Broadway and Other Stage Shows by Stubblebine, D.
Call Number: ML128.M78 S79 2001
A Century of American Popular Music: 2000 Best-Loved and Remembered Songs (1899-1999) by Jasen, D.
Call Number: Ref ML128.P63 J37 2002

Encyclopedias

Women and Music in America Since 1900: An Encyclopedia by Burns, K.
Call Number: ML82.W625 2002
New Grove Dictionary of American Music by Hitchcock, H.
Call Number: Ref ML101.U6 N48 1986b
American songwriters : an H.W. Wilson biographical dictionary by Ewen, David
Call Number: ML106.U3 E9 1987
The Encyclopedia of Country Music: The Ultimate Guide to the Music by Kingbury, P.
Call Number: Ref ML102.C7 E54 1998
Folk and Blues: The Encyclopedia by Stambler, I.
Call Number: Ref ML102.F66 S74 2001
The American Musical Film Song Encyclopedia by Hischak, T.
Call Number: Ref ML102.M68 H57 1999
Tin Pan Alley: An Encyclopedia of the Golden Age of American Song by Jasen, D.A.
Call Number: Ref ML102 .P66 J37 2003
Encyclopedia of Rhythm & Blues and Doo Wop Vocal Groups by Rosalsky, M.
Call Number: Ref ML102.P66 R67 2000

History

The Da Capo Book of American Singing Groups: A History, 1940-1990. by Warner, J.
Call Number: Ref ML106.U3 W2 2000
A Chronicle of American Music by Hall, C.
Call Number: Ref ML200.H15 1996
Mainstream Music of Early Twentieth Century America: The Composers, Their Times, and Their Works by Tawa, N.
Call Number: Ref ML200.5.T35
American Musical Traditions by Titon, J.
Call Number: Ref ML3551.A53 2002