This guide provides a list of key databases for the subject along with links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs. Call number ranges and subject headings for finding books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings in the Music Library are also included.
Many of the resources in this guide may also be accessed through the UT George F. DeVine Music Library homepage.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Revised July 2017, Chris Durman
DeVine Music Library Coordinator
Natalie L. Haslam Music Center, G-04
1741 Volunteer Blvd., 37996-2600
Key Databases
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent places to begin your research:
- Oxford Music OnlinePart of Oxford Music Online
Search for journal articles on your topic in the following databases:
- Music Periodicals Database
Supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals. Coverage from 1874 to current.
- Music Index
Indexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music. Coverage from 1970 to present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Bibliography on writings about music with some full-text articles. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and more. Coverage from the early 19th century to present.
- Web of Science
This link opens in a new window
Contains the former "Arts and Humanities Citation Index" - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses in all disciplines from around the world, many with full-text.
Listen to music in these databases:
- Music Online: American Music
A streaming audio collection of songs by and about Americans. Includes the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
- Music & Performing Arts
An audio and video collection for classical, opera, jazz, world, popular music, and American music. Also includes theatre, dance, and film resources.
- Naxos Music Library
A streaming audio database featuring a comprehensive collection of classical music. Search by composer, artist, label, and more. Includes guides on musical eras and other topical resources.
- Music Online: Jazz Music Library
A streaming audio collection of jazz recordings from all over the world. Includes individual tracks and entire albums featuring some of the most famous artists and ensembles.
- Naxos Music Library: Jazz
A streaming audio database featuring contemporary jazz from around the world. Search by composer, artist, label, and more.
Online Access - 10 simultaneous users
Journals
- Institute for Studies in American Music NewsletterCall Number: ML28.B81B75
- Journal of the Society for American MusicCall Number: ML1 .J756
- The Bulletin of the Society for American MusicCall Number: ML27.U5S765