Skip to main content
Skip to content

Theatre: Home

This guide will help you find resources about theatre history and production techniques.

Theatre in Video

Theatre in Video contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video—more than 500 hours in all. Titles of these videos are now available in UT's Library Catalog.

New Databases

Pro Tips

Make sure that you are signed in to OneSearch to get full results: https://www.lib.utk.edu/access/accounts/

 

Make sure that you are signed up for Interlibrary Services (ILS) to easily borrow materials from other libraries: https://www.lib.utk.edu/request/

 

Anyone in the UTK community can "request a purchase": https://www.lib.utk.edu/collections/suggest-a-purchase/

 

Use the "My Account" feature to renew books and keep track of items pinned from OneSearch: https://libanswers.utk.edu/faq/206395

 

Many databases will offer citation export. This is a handy feature when dealing with a large number of items, but make sure to double check the formatting: https://tiny.utk.edu/owl

 

Investigate the "recall" feature if a physical item that you need is checked out. (N.B. the other user has ten days to return the item, so make an ILS request if you need something more quickly): https://libanswers.utk.edu/faq/110102

 

If you are trying to access an ebook, but the item is "in use," simply wait for a few minutes and try again.

 

To get the most out of Google Scholar, authenticate via the UTK Libraries' link: https://libguides.utk.edu/databases/490

 

The Studio is a great resource for multimedia projects: https://www.lib.utk.edu/studio/

Triadic Ballet, designed and created by Oskar Schlemmer. Photo by Karl Grill, c. 1922

Current Database Trial

Starting Points

For Books:

Check the library catalog.

Browse the PN1600-3307 areas in the circulating collection on 4th floor of the library.


For Articles:

For all areas of the Performing Arts: Performing Arts Periodicals Database (International Index to the Performing Arts

For American and Canadian Theatre: North American Theater Online

For recent articles and reviews: Academic Search Complete


To watch a video:

Or find a DVD or VHS in our library catalog and watch it in The Studio or at home. Also investigate our streaming media guide.

Subject Guide

Chris Caldwell's picture
Chris Caldwell
Contact:
Chris Caldwell
Associate Professor
Rare Books & Humanities Librarian
Special Collections
University of Tennessee Libraries
865.974.0019
Subjects:Theatre

In Special Collections