Planning & Searching
-
PubMedEssential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
-
CINAHL CompleteA comprehensive database for the literature of nursing and of allied health.
-
Cochrane LibraryCochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based clinical information databases for healthcare providers.
-
ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present.
-
Web of ScienceA multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors.
-
APA PsycINFOProvides indexing and abstracts of international psychological literature from the 1800s to present.
-
ERIC from EBSCOIncludes indexed and some full-text education literature and resources. Coverage from 1966 to present.
-
Education SourceProvides indexing, abstracts, and some Full-Text of articles in all areas of education. Complements the ERIC database with a broad coverage of topics related to education.
-
PROSPEROPROSPERO (International Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews) serves as a database of proposed systematic reviews in "health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome." PROSPERO accepts systematic reviews, rapid reviews, and umbrella reviews. It does not accept scoping reviews or literature scans.
-
Open Science Framework (OSF)Open Science Framework (OSF) provides a free, open platform to share research projects and encourage collaboration. OSF allows users to upload protocols and share URLs or DOIs.
-
Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange (TRACE)TRACE is the open access repository for the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and serves as a publicly-accessible archive of scholarly works by UTK scholars and researchers.
-
Campbell Systematic ReviewsThe Campbell Systematic Reviews journal publishes systematic reviews and protocols.
-
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)The CDSR publishes Cochrane systematic reviews and protocols for Cochrane reviews.
-
Systematic Reviews (BMC)The Systematic Reviews Journal provided by BioMed Central (BMC) publishes systematic reviews, protocols, rapid reviews, and other research related to the systematic review process.
Screening & Extraction
-
Covidence is fee-based systematic review screening platform that supports article screening for systematic reviews.
UT Libraries provides access to Covidence for current students and campus personnel to streamline the production of the various types of literature reviews.
New users need to create an account. Be sure to use your UTK email address when creating a new Covidence account as this will provide access to the UTK subscription features.
-
Rayyan is an online tool that can be used to screen and codes studies for a systematic review. Rayyan offers free accounts for early systematic review researchers, and paid accounts with added features for students and professional researchers.
-
Abstrackr is a free, open-source, web-based tool for uploading and organizing literature search results for a systematic review. Provides the ability for research teams to screen and organize abstracts in one place.
-
SysRev provides free basic accounts for users looking to use machine earning to optimize systematic reviews. Can be used for article screening and data extraction, and offers a premium subscription for additional analytics and administration tools.
-
CADIMA is a free, web-based tool that supports the documentation of systematic reviews and other review types. Provides automated duplicate removal and bulk uploads of PDFs along with detailed documentation of the review process.
-
DistillerSR offers subscription-based, automated support for various types of reviews, including systematic reviews. Pricing tiers include student, faculty, and research team subscriptions, and require a minimum of a 3-month commitment.
-
The Systematic Review Toolbox is a free search platform for tools that can be used to support various stages of the systematic review process. Includes tools for protocol development, screening, data extraction, and quality assessment.
-
Endnote offers robust citation management capabilities and provides shared libraries for up to 100 collaborators. Endnote Desktop and access to Endnote Web is provided by UTK Office of Information Technology (OIT).
For tutorials on Endnote 20, please review this tutorial collection provided by Jeanine Williamson Fletcher.
-
Zotero is a free citation management tool that works within the Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox web browsers or as a stand-alone client. Zotero allows for PDF attachments, citation images and notes, organization of citations into collections for different projects, and creation of bibliographies.
For assistance with Zotero, please reach out to Brianne Dosch.
-
Related Guides: For more information regarding these citation managers and other citation information, please visit the following guides: