Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote 20 Tutorials: EndNote 20

A collection of tutorials based on the UTK EndNote classes.

Installation and Setup


Windows Installation and Mac Tips


EndNote 20: Tutorial Series


This tutorial shows how to extract the EndNote files during Windows and Mac installations so that you will not be asked for a product key. Tips about where to save Mac EndNote libraries are also given.



Adding References


Exporting References from a Database into EndNote


EndNote 20: Tutorial Series


This tutorial provides instructions about the process of exporting references from databases into EndNote.



Importing PDFs into EndNote


EndNote 20: Tutorial Series


This tutorial provides instructions about the process of importing references from PDFs with DOI (Digital Object Identifiers) that are recognized by EndNote.



Typing in a Reference


EndNote 20: Tutorial Series


This tutorial demonstrates one method of getting references into EndNote 20, which is to manually enter the reference information.



Managing Your Library


Managing an EndNote Library


EndNote 20: Tutorial Series


This tutorial demonstrates EndNote features such as groups (folders to organize your references), searching and sorting references, and getting rid of duplicate references.



Getting an Output Style into EndNote


EndNote 20: Tutorial Series


It your citation style does not come pre-loaded in EndNote, you can download it from the EndNote website. This tutorial walks users through the process of downloading and adding new styles.



Backing Up and Synching an EndNote Library


EndNote 20: Tutorial Series


This tutorial walks users through creating a compressed EndNote library as a back up. It will also demonstrate syncing your library between the online and desktop versions of EndNote.



Additional Functions and Features


Cite While You Write


EndNote 20: Tutorial Series


This tutorial walks through using EndNote's Cite While You Write feature. Cite While You Write is the method of inserting references into a Word document from an EndNote library and formatting them in a style such as APA.



Find Full Text


EndNote 20: Tutorial Series


EndNote's Find Full Text function allows you to download PDFs associated with your references after setting up preferences. This tutorial walks users through using Find Full Text in EndNote.



Research Librarian

Profile Photo
Jeanine Williamson
Contact:
Pendergrass Library

2407 River Drive

Knoxville, TN 37996

(865) 974-9164

jwilliamson@utk.edu