Introduction to Special Collections

The purpose of this Research Guide is to provide researchers, students, and all those interested in using or visiting the Special Collections at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville an overview of that process.

In this Research Guide, you will find information on the following:

• What is Special Collections?
• Visiting Special Collections
• Introduction to Archival Research
• Finding Archival Materials and Rare Books at UTK Knoxville
• Requesting Materials and Making a Research Appointment

Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections. Special Collections hold materials that are too rare, valuable, or unique to be held in the regular library stacks, and includes both published and unpublished materials.

The Betsey B. Creekmore Special Collections at UT Knoxville is made up of the following:

• University Archives
• Manuscript Archives
• Rare Books
• Modern Political Archives

As our materials are unique and often irreplaceable, all of our materials are non-circulating and research must take place in the Reading Room. The Reading Room is open to all those who are interested in using our materials, including members of the University of Tennessee community as well as the general public. For additional information on visiting Special Collections, please visit our website for up to date hours, directions, and policies: https://www.lib.utk.edu/special/

University of Tennessee, Knoxville research guide on Primary Sources: https://libguides.utk.edu/primarysources