Introduction to Special Collections

Requesting an Appointment

1. Log in to Aeon: https://utk.aeon.atlas-sys.com/logon
2. Click on the ‘Appointments’ tab.
3. On the ‘Appointments’ page, click ‘Schedule Appointments.’
4. In the calendar, select your desired date and time.
   1. Double-click on any available date. In the pop-up window, select a date, start time, and end time for your appointment. Click ‘Schedule’ then click ‘Close’ to close the calendar window.
   2. The system will only allow you to schedule an appointment at least 5 days in advance so staff have time to retrieve your materials.
5.  This appointment will now appear in your ‘Appointments’ tab.

Please note that at this point, your appointment still needs to be confirmed by Special Collections staff. Once you have added at least one request to your appointment, staff will look over your materials and confirm the appointment. You will receive an email confirming your appointment. If your appointment is not confirmed, we do not guarantee that your requests will be ready.

If you need to request an appointment further out than what is available, please email special@utk.edu for assistance. 

You are also able to make an appointment while requesting materials. For an overview of this process, please see the next tab in this guide, 'Requesting Materials.'

Editing an appointment

1. Log in to Aeon: https://utk.aeon.atlas-sys.com/logon
2. Click on the ‘Appointments’ tab.
3. On the ‘Appointments’ page, you will see all active appointments by default.
4. Navigate to the appointment you wish to edit and click on the ‘Actions’ drop down menu.
5. Select ‘Edit Appointment’ from the list of options.
6. On this page, you can update the ‘Appointment Name,’ the ‘Appointment Date,’ and the ‘Start Time’ and ‘End Time’ for your appointment.
   1. You will not be able to edit your appointment if it is fewer than 5 days away. To change your appointment at this point, please email special@utk.edu for assistance.
7. Once you have updated your appointment, click the ‘Submit Appointment’ button at the bottom of the page.

Cancelling an appointment

1. Log in to Aeon: https://utk.aeon.atlas-sys.com/logon
2. Click on the ‘Appointments’ tab.
3. On the ‘Appointments’ page, you will see all active appointments by default.
4. Navigate to the appointment you wish to cancel and click on the ‘Actions’ drop down menu.
5. Select ‘Cancel Appointment’ from the list of options.

Accessing Appointment Information

1. Log in to Aeon: https://utk.aeon.atlas-sys.com/logon
2. Click on the ‘Appointments’ tab.
3. On the ‘Appointments’ page, you will see all active appointments by default.
4. Navigate to the appointment you wish to view. Click the ‘Details’ button.
5. Here you can see the appointment name (if you added one), date and time, and all associated requests, including the item status (i.e., in transit, on hold). You can also download the iCalendar file for your appointment to add it to your calendar.

This section covers requesting archival materials as well as rare books.

Requesting Archival Materials

1. Search our finding aids using our finding aid database, SCOUT at https://scout.lib.utk.edu/
2. Select the finding aid for the collection you are interested in from your search results.
3. You are not able to request an entire collection using Aeon, as many of our collections can be quite large, so you will need to narrow your request to specific folders or series. Using the ‘Collection Organization’ window on the right side of the finding aid, navigate to the folder of materials you want to request by expanding the list of series/subseries.
4. Select the title of the folder or series you wish to request.
   1. Note- we only need to know which boxes you want to consult during your visit; meaning you do not need to request every single item, folder, or file, only enough individual items to represent each box that will be used.
5. Click the ‘Aeon Request’ button towards the top of the page.
   1. 
6. This will bring you to your Aeon account.
7. Select the request(s) that you want to have available for your appointment by ticking the checkbox on the left-hand side of the request box.
8. Select the appointment you are requesting the items for or schedule a new appointment.
   1. For the ‘Site’ drop down menu, select ‘Special Collections and University Archives.’ This will allow you to select an appointment from the ‘Appointment’ drop down menu.
   2. Note- requests cannot be added to appointments that are fewer than 5 days in advance. To add a request to an appointment fewer than 5 days in advance, please email special@utk.edu for assistance.
9. Click ‘Submit Information.’
   1. At this point, the request status will be ‘Awaiting Future Request Processing.’ This status will be updated when the materials are in transit from off site storage, and then again when the items are on hold in our Reading Room.

There is a limit of 6 boxes requested at a time. If you need to request more than 6 boxes at a time, please email special@utk.edu.

Requesting Rare Books

1. Search for rare books using our library catalog, OneSearch
   1. To narrow down your search to materials in Special Collections only, select ‘UT Collections and Subscriptions’ in the ‘Explore All’ dropdown menu and then select ‘Special Collections’ in the ‘All Locations’ dropdown menu.
   2. You’re also able to narrow down your results using the filters on the left-hand side of the page after you’ve started your search for materials.
2. Select the book or item that you are interested in from your search results.
3. Under the ‘Location Items’ section, click ‘Request for the Reading Room.’
   1. 
4. This will bring you to your Aeon account.
5. Review your request and make any needed edits. Most information will be auto filled for you. If you’d like to leave a note or question for Special Collections staff, you can do so in the ‘Special Requests/Questions?’ box.
6. Select the appointment you are requesting the items for, or schedule a new appointment.
7. Click ‘Submit Request.’

For more information on our reproduction services, please visit our webpage at: https://www.lib.utk.edu/special/reproduction-services/

Requesting Reproductions of Archival Material

To make a reproduction request, you need to request materials through the finding aid first as detailed below. To make a reproduction request for materials you’ve already requested for research see below.

1. Search our finding aids using our finding aid database, SCOUT at https://scout.lib.utk.edu/
2. Select the finding aid for the collection you are interested in from your search results.
3. Using the ‘Collection Organization’ window on the right side of the finding aid, navigate to the folder of materials you want to request by expanding the list of series/subseries.
4. Select the title of the folder or series you wish to request.
5. Click the ‘Aeon Request’ button towards the top of the page.
6. This will bring you to your Aeon account.
7. Click the ‘Request Copy’ button towards the right of the item request box. This will take you to a new page.
8. Fill in the form. Most information will be auto filled for you, but the ‘Order Information’ section needs to be filled out. Add any additional information in the ‘Special Requests/Questions?’ section.
9. Read the ‘Conditions for Using Materials’ rights statement and agree by ticking the check box.
10. Click ‘Submit Request.’

Requesting Reproductions from an Existing Request

1. Log in to Aeon: https://utk.aeon.atlas-sys.com/logon
2. Click ‘Order History’ from the top menu and select ‘All Requests’ from the drop-down menu.
3. Navigate to the request you want a reproduction of. On the right side of the request, click the ‘Actions’ button and then select ‘Request Copy’ from the drop down menu. This will take you to a new page.
4. Fill in the form. Most information will be auto filled for you, but the ‘Order Information’ section needs to be filled out. Add any additional information in the ‘Special Requests/Questions?’ section.
5. Read the ‘Conditions for Using Materials’ rights statement and agree by ticking the check box.
6. Click ‘Submit Request.’

Accessing Your Reproductions

1. Log in to Aeon: https://utk.aeon.atlas-sys.com/logon
2. Click ‘Order History’ from the top menu and select ‘Electronically Delivered Items’ from the drop-down menu.
3. Your reproductions will be available for 30 days from the date of delivery. You will receive an email when your reproductions have been added to Aeon.
4. Navigate through the list of delivered materials to your desired item.
5. Select “View” to open the file. From here, you will be able to download the item.