Research Guides: Patents & Trademarks: Open Access Resources

IP Resources: Open Access

Explore a curated collection of free, reliable online tools and databases to help you research patents, trademarks, copyrights, and other intellectual property topics.

Databases

IP Statistics: Statistical Country Profiles | WIPO
WIPO’s statistical country profiles offer data on patents, trademarks, and designs, covering filings, technology fields, patents in force, and international IP system use.
Espacenet: Patent Search
Search 140+ million patent documents worldwide, including full-text and family data.
Patent Lens: New Patent Search
Integrates patents with scholarly literature; good for innovation and impact analysis.
Google Patents
User-friendly interface to search U.S. and international patents, with legal status and citations.
Global Brand Database | WIPO
WIPO’s Global Brand Database is a free international trademark registry—including wordmark and image search, classification, status, ownership info, and document access.
Trademark Search | USPTO
Search registered and pending U.S. federal trademarks.
Creative Commons Search Portal | Creative Commons
Copyright Public Records System | U.S. Copyright Office
TM View | European Union Intellectual Property Office
EUIPO tool to search trademark data from 75+ IP offices worldwide.
Global Design Database | WIPO
Search international and national design registrations and publications.

Websites

Artificial Intelligence | United States Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)
The USPTO’s AI initiative promotes responsible AI integration by guiding IP policies, enhancing examination tools, building staff expertise, and collaborating across agencies and internationally to maintain U.S. innovation leadership.
IP Identifier: Learn to identify and protect your intellectual property | USPTO
USPTO’s IP Identifier is an interactive tool guiding users through six-question Basic module and advanced module to identify and protect patents, trademarks, copyrights, trade secrets.
IP Policy | USPTO
The USPTO’s IP Policy hub outlines its leadership in patent, trademark, copyright, enforcement, trade secrets, international treaties, economics, rulemaking, and legislative initiatives to guide IP policy and global coordination.
Public Views on Artificial Intelligence and Intellectual Property Policy | USPTO
This USPTO report summarizes public feedback on how current intellectual property laws address artificial intelligence, highlighting general support for existing frameworks and identifying areas for future policy consideration.
Protecting Intellectual Property | U.S. Government Accountability Office
The U.S. Government Accountability Office’s (GAO) "Protecting Intellectual Property" hub examines how federal systems—from patents and trademarks to research licensing and enforcement—support innovation, economic competitiveness, and national security.
What is intellectual property? | WIPO
This booklet introduces key types of intellectual property—like inventions, art, and trademarks—and explains legal protections and WIPO’s global role in IP policy and services.
World Intellectual Property Indicators 2024 | WIPO
The *World Intellectual Property Indicators* is WIPO’s annual report analyzing global IP trends using 2023 data on patents, trademarks, designs, and more from national and regional offices.
STOPfakes.gov | International Trade Administration (ITA), U.S. Department of Commerce
STOPfakes.gov helps businesses protect intellectual property worldwide by providing tools, training, and expert guidance to prevent counterfeiting and piracy.

Disclaimer

This guide is designed solely for informational and educational use and does not constitute legal advice. It should not replace consultation with a qualified intellectual property attorney or legal expert. The resources and examples provided are intended to support research and learning. For authoritative information, United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), or consult a qualified legal professional. If you need help obtaining legal representation, the USPTO offers two programs that provide financial assistance for intellectual property legal services.

Patents & Trademarks

IP Resources: Open Access

On this page:

Databases

Podcasts

Websites

Disclaimer