Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Knoxville Theater (Special Collections): Home

This research guide will direct you to Knoxville performance arts and motion picture theater resources in Special Collections.

What's in this Guide?

Black and white photograph looking north into Gay Street's 600 Block. the Tennessee theater's sign is visible. This research guide will direct you to Knoxville performance arts and motion picture theater resources in Special Collections. 

Gay Street (600 Block) between 1928-1937. View on Gay Street in downtown Knoxville, looking north from Church Avenue with the Tennessee Theater sign in the distance. From the Images of East Tennessee Digital Collection. 

General Resources

Use the following to locate general information on the prominent theaters in Knoxville's history. Combining some terms can help return more relevant results.

  • college theater
  • Knoxville, Tennessee Theater(s)
  • Motion picture theaters
  • theater
  • theater programs

 

 

 

To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

Special Collections Contact Information

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website