Research Guides: Entrepreneurship & Innovation: Starting a Business

Starting a Business

Featured resources to support aspiring entrepreneurs through every stage of launching and growing a business. Whether you're exploring an idea, writing a business plan, or seeking funding, you'll find curated resources, tools, and local connections to help you succeed. Explore databases, templates, legal guidance, and community programs tailored to small business development in Tennessee and beyond.

Not sure where to start? Check out the U.S. Small Business Administration's "10 Steps to Start Your Business".

Tennessee Resources

Alliance for Better Nonprofits | United Way of Greater Knoxville
Provides inclusive nonprofit support, training, and resources to strengthen community impact across East Tennessee—now integrated with United Way.
East Knoxville Business & Professional Association
Supports East Knoxville’s economic growth through networking, advocacy, and collaboration among local businesses and professionals.
Farragut West Knox Chamber of Commerce
Promotes business development and community engagement in West Knox and Farragut through events, advocacy, and member services.
Fountain City Business & Professional Association
Encourages local business growth and civic involvement in Fountain City through networking, education, and community partnerships.
Greater Knoxville SCORE
A local service agency with free counseling and low-cost workshops. The "Library" of information sheets on the website includes topics for nonprofits.
Halls Business & Professional Association
Fosters business success and community pride in Halls through monthly meetings, local events, and collaborative initiatives.
KnoxDevs
An online community for the Knoxville area software development community putting developers and companies in touch with each other.
Knoxville Area Urban League
"The Knoxville Area Urban League, an affiliate of the National Urban League, is dedicated to empowering communities and changing lives. Our mission is to enable African Americans, other minority groups and the underserved to secure economic self-reliance, parity, power and civil rights." - Knoxville Area Urban League
Knoxville Entrepreneur Center
A business accelerator that serves as the front door for entrepreneurs in our region, and a resource for anyone looking to start or grow a business here.
The Maker City
The Maker City connects Knoxville’s makers, creatives, and small manufacturers through partnerships, programming, and resources that drive business success.
North Knoxville Business & Professional Association
Connects North Knoxville businesses to promote economic development, community involvement, and professional networking opportunities.
Referral Excellence Organization
A business networking group focused on generating qualified referrals and building trusted relationships among Knoxville-area professionals.
StartupKnox Ecosystem Guide
"A comprehensive guide to the local startup ecosystem in the greater Knoxville area."
Young Professionals of Knoxville
Connects, develops, and empowers young professionals through networking, leadership training, and community service to strengthen Knoxville’s future leaders.

Blount Partnership | Chamber of Commerce
Promotes economic growth, tourism, and workforce development in Blount County through business support, advocacy, and regional collaboration.
Businesses | Tennessee Secretary of State
Provides tools to register businesses, file annual reports, search entities, manage trademarks, and access official business documents statewide.
Business Resources | Tennessee Department of Economic & Community Development
Offers tools, data, and support for small businesses, startups, and entrepreneurs to launch, grow, and succeed across Tennessee.
LaunchTN
Interactive hub for startup founders across all 95 counties. Access to events, programs, and entrepreneurial support organizations. Bi-weekly newsletter with startup news and opportunities. Great for discovering local funding, mentorship, and networking tailored to Tennessee’s startup ecosystem.
Loudon County Chamber of Commerce
Supports local businesses and promotes economic vitality in Loudon County through networking, advocacy, and community engagement.
Oak Ridge Chamber of Commerce
Advances business success and innovation in Oak Ridge through strategic partnerships, advocacy, and support for science and technology enterprises.
Seymour Area Chamber of Commerce
Connects and supports Seymour-area businesses through networking, community events, and local economic development initiatives.
SmartStart™ | TN Department of Economic & Community Development
Step-by-step guidance for launching and growing a business. Provides interactive tools for underutilized businesses and microenterprises. Highlights community-based initiatives and placemaking resources. Ideal for small business owners seeking practical support and local development programs.
Tennessee Department of Economic & Community Development
Supports business growth through grants, site selection, workforce development, and infrastructure to strengthen Tennessee’s economy and local communities.
Tennessee Small Business Development Center
A network of professional business consultants with 20 locations geographically disbursed throughout the state, providing expert business advice to all types of businesses.
Tennessee State Data Center | Boyd Center for Business and Economic Research
The Census State Data Center (SDC) program is a State/Census Bureau cooperative program with a mission of providing efficient access to US Census data and products, providing training and technical assistance to data users, and providing feedback to the Census Bureau on data usability, as well as state and local government data needs and operational issues.

Anderson Center for Entrepreneurship & Innovation | Haslam College of Business
The Anderson Center at UT's Haslam College supports student entrepreneurs through coaching, grants, accelerators, and events that foster startup growth and regional impact.
Invention Disclosure Enterprise Application (IDEA) Dashboard
The University of Tennessee IDEA portal (Innovation Discovery & Entrepreneurship Accelerator) is a NetID‑secured hub for managing invention disclosures, accessing commercialization tools, funding opportunities (e.g., Venture Launch Program, Chancellor’s Innovation Fund), and startup/accelerator support via UTRF.
Partnerships & Economic Development | Office of Research, Innovation & Economic Development (ORIED)
The University of Tennessee’s Division of Partnerships & Economic Development connects faculty, students, and external partners—corporate, nonprofit, and community—to advance innovation, commercialization, entrepreneurship, workforce development, and regional economic growth.
Spark Innovation Center at UT Research Park
Spark Innovation Center supports hard-tech startups with lab space, mentoring, and accelerator programs to advance cleantech innovation and commercialization.
UT Entrepreneurship Resources Search | Haslam College of Business
Discover tailored UT resources, programs, and tools to support entrepreneurship, innovation, and small business development at every stage.
UT Research Foundation (UTRF)
The University of Tennessee Research Foundation (UTRF) is a non‑profit 501(c)(3) organization that facilitates commercialization of UT innovations, supports research and startups, and fosters regional economic development.
UTRF Business Incubator
The UTRF Business Incubator offers affordable space, mentoring, and resources to help early-stage tech startups grow and succeed.

Databases

Business Data | Tennessee Department of Economic & Community Development
Interactive dashboards with data on business ownership by race, gender, veteran status, and employment type. Helps identify market gaps, target demographics, and industry trends by region.
Demographics | City of Knoxville
Provides population, housing, income, and workforce data to support planning, development, and community decision-making in Knoxville.
Geospatial Data for Tennessee | State of Tennessee
Downloadable GIS data on boundaries, transportation, housing, education, health, and more. Ideal for location analysis, site selection, and community-based planning.
Open Data Portals and Clearinghouses | TN Geographic Information Council (TNGIC)
Curated list of Tennessee GIS and demographic data sources, including university and government datasets. Great for academic research and regional planning.
Open Data | Knoxville-Knox County Planning
Interactive portal with downloadable datasets on zoning, land use, transportation, and demographics for regional planning and analysis.
Tennessee Quarterly Business & Economic Indicator Reports | Tennessee Secretary of State
Tracks business filings, employment trends, and economic indicators to assess Tennessee’s business climate and growth patterns quarterly.
Tennessee State Data Center | Boyd Center for Business and Economic Research
Offers access to U.S. Census data, training, and technical assistance for demographic research and state-level planning.

Census Data | United States Census Bureau
Offers demographic, economic, and geographic data critical for policy, research, and community planning through interactive tools and visualizations.
Data.gov | U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Services
The U.S. government’s central open data portal, offering 300,000+ datasets for research, development, and public engagement.
GSA Open Data | U.S. General Services Administration
Provides public access to federal datasets, promoting transparency, innovation, and informed decision-making across government and private sectors.
Open Data | Digital.gov, U.S. General Services Administration
Supports federal open data initiatives by connecting agencies, stewards, and civic technologists to improve transparency and public service delivery.

Business Source Complete
Comprehensive scholarly business database offering full-text journals and bibliographic content across all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Gale Business. Entrepreneurship
Offers tools for planning, funding, and managing a business. Includes sample business plans, journals, multimedia, and guides for entrepreneurs and small business owners.

• Access provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
• Please see this FAQ for additional information about content in Gale databases.
• Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Gale OneFile. Business
Provides full-text access to business disciplines including finance, marketing, management, and economics, with coverage of theory, practice, and industry trends.
- Access provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
- Please see this FAQ for additional information about content in Gale databases.
- Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation.
  For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Regional Business News
Covers U.S. and Canadian regional business publications, including newspapers, trade journals, newswires, and transcripts. Full-text coverage from 1990 to present.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
SAGE Business Researcher
Archived collection of in-depth reports on business and economic issues. No new content added after April 2019; useful for historical research.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com: Online), current issues
Unlimited access to WSJ.com and mobile apps. Covers business, finance, and global news from 1997 to present. UT email required for account setup.

Catalyst (MRI-Simmons)
Provides U.S. consumer data on product use, spending, and media habits from Simmons National Consumer Study. Custom reports available.

Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Catalyst. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
First Research
Industry reports with trends, forecasts, challenges, and financials. Includes marketing templates. Now part of D&B Hoovers platform.

If you begin to have access issues, try clearing everything in your browser history. If that does not work, contact eproblems@utk.edu.
IBISWorld
Delivers industry and risk reports with market size, competitor share, growth rates, and trend analysis across sectors.
Insider Intelligence
Offers digital marketing, media, and commerce insights from eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence. Includes forecasts and consumer behavior trends.

Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Insider Intelligence. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Mergent Market Atlas
Covers U.S. and global public companies with current and historical corporate data spanning the past 15 years.
Mintel Academic.
Provides U.S. market research reports by category. Includes consumer profiles, trends, and interactive databooks for academic use.

For help downloading Mintel reports, see FAQ.
Nielsen Datasets / Kilts Center for Marketing
Academic access to Nielsen consumer and retail data. Available to approved UTK faculty, PhD students, and post-docs.
Before registration, please review Policies for eligibility, project criteria, use requirements, papers and publications policies.
Registration and Access:
- First, you need to register for an account.
  - New User Registration
  - Registered Researchers Access
- Limitations:
  - The data is only available to be used on university-owned equipment and should not be distributed via the internet (unless it’s through university systems). There is a specific exception to be allowed to use systems like Dropbox and Box for collaboration.
Plunkett Research Online
Industry analysis and market research with statistics, trends, company profiles, and lists of associations and organizations.

Connect / S&P Global
Access industry-leading analysis, forecasts, and risk data on U.S. economic and political conditions via US Monitor Enhanced subscription.

Access had been provided by the Haslam College of Business.
Users of keyboard navigation will not be able to fully access this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for assistance.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Comprehensive directory of U.S. businesses and consumers, useful for market research, sales leads, and demographic analysis.

Users of keyboard navigation or screen reader software may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.
GuideStar
Detailed nonprofit profiles including mission, finances, impact, and governance. Access provided by Haslam College of Business.
International Directory of Company Histories
Historical profiles of influential public and private companies worldwide, covering strategic developments and industry impact since 1988.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Mergent Archives
Historical corporate and industry documents, including annual reports, Mergent and D&B manuals, and pre-2015 Key Business Ratios.

If the content of a Mergent Archives article is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Screen reader users may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Investment data and analysis on mutual funds, stocks, and ETFs. Includes portfolio tools and corrected quantitative ratings.
PrivCo
Private company financials and business data, including venture-backed, family-owned, and international firms not publicly traded.

First time users must create an account using your UTK email.

Checkpoint Edge
Comprehensive tax and accounting database with IRS Code, regulations, cases, and Federal Tax Handbook. Ideal for legal and financial research.

Access provided by UT Law Library.
Nexis Uni
Legal and business research tool with news, cases, codes, and company data. Includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions and global coverage.

Users of keyboard navigation may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.
OECD.org
Access books, papers, and statistics from OECD covering global economic topics like trade, energy, agriculture, and development.
ProcurementIQ
Provides procurement intelligence reports with product overviews, supplier insights, market characteristics, and negotiation strategies for informed purchasing decisions.

Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing ProcurementIQ. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Extensive archive of public opinion polls on politics, culture, science, and more. Includes downloadable datasets and visualized results.

If Roper Center content is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Users of keyboard navigation or of swipe/gesture navigation on Android/iOS may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
SageData
Social science datasets with tools for analysis. Browse by topic, source, or geography. Includes Data-Planet and Statistical Datasets.

Screen reader users should avoid using an Android or iOS device on this website.
Social Science Research Network : SSRN
Repository of scholarly papers in social sciences. Includes abstracts and full-text PDFs in economics, law, management, and more.

Access provided by UT Law Library.
Sociometrics
Curated health and social science datasets. Includes longitudinal studies and original survey instruments across eight topical research collections.

Books

Disciplined Entrepreneurship Workbook

Breaks down startup creation into 24 actionable steps, offering a structured, repeatable process for building successful ventures from scratch.

The Lean Startup

Introduces lean methodology for startups—build, measure, learn—to reduce waste, test ideas quickly, and adapt to customer feedback.

The $100 startup: how to fire your boss and create a new future

Shares stories of people who built successful businesses with minimal investment, emphasizing freedom, creativity, and practical action.

Founders at Work

Features candid interviews with startup founders, revealing early struggles, breakthroughs, and lessons learned in building iconic tech companies.

Start With Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action

Explains how great leaders and businesses inspire action by clearly communicating their purpose—starting with “why” before “how” or “what."

Venture Deals : Be Smarter Than Your Lawyer and Venture Capitalist.

Demystifies venture capital term sheets and negotiations, empowering entrepreneurs to understand and navigate startup funding with confidence.

Entrepreneurship & Innovation